When a Stranger Saved Me

Do some memories still linger in your heart and keep you awake at night?

Kiran Yadav
The Memoirist

--

Photo by Shruti Singh on Unsplash

Summer holidays are my favourite memories of my childhood. As kids, we eagerly waited for holidays to visit our grandparents in our village. And you know how grandparents spoil their grandkids and we were happy to be spoiled. We can be away from school and studies. There was no routine to follow. We can play all day. Plug mangoes directly from the trees. Carefree days. No worries. Except for the holidays coming to an end!

I was in my second grade. We used to take the train to go to our village. Being excited that the day had finally come when we would board the train and go to our extended family, I wore my favourite yellow frock and got ready for the move.

We had this tradition that whenever we used to go to the railway station we had to drink Frooty Mango. It is a mango-flavoured drink. It comes with a straw and making noises of sucking with the straw, when the drink was finished, was the fun in itself.

We also were excited about pani-puri and had to eat before boarding the train. That day also we followed our eating tradition at the station.

My younger brother was also a pani-puri lover like me.

Pani-puri is a deep-fried breaded sphere filled with…

--

--

Kiran Yadav
The Memoirist

Uncovering my niche, exploring genres, making meaningful contributions along the way