When He Returned From Korea

Orion Griffin
The Memoirist
Published in
Sep 1, 2023
Photo by Daniel Bernard on Unsplash

On the last day of first grade, I walked out of the school, beaming, and down the path that led to the playground where Mom waited to pick me up.

Next to my mom stood a tall man dressed in the greenish-tan Air Force uniform. On his face was an unfamiliar mustache above a kind of familiar smile.

“Who are you?” For a moment, my stomach dropped. Was Marc gone?

“What, you don’t recognize me after a year?” I recognized his voice immediately. He was finally home.

“Dad!” I screamed, jumping into my stepfather’s arms, tears streaming down my face.

--

--

Orion Griffin
The Memoirist

I'm a news editor and writer for a newspaper. In my free time I write short fiction for fun and about my life to better understand myself.