Admit it, You Don’t Know What You’re Doing

It’s ok. Neither does anybody else.

Non Fungible Therapist
Mental Health Collective
2 min readDec 15, 2022

--

Life is a Disney ride on a track with expected turns, villains, and a happy ending full of festive music. Just kidding. Where’s the fun in that??

We endlessly ask kids, “what do you wanna be when you grow up?

Well… you’re grown up. Can YOU answer that question?

My story:

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a dinosaur.

In high school, I wanted to play professional basketball.

In college, I wanted to be a travel writer.

I “tried” these things, especially becoming a dinosaur. It didn’t stick.

It took me 10 years after finishing undergrad to realize I wanted to go back to school and be a therapist. I finished grad school, and instead of pursuing licensure, I dove headfirst into the Web3 space.

Why? Who knows. Will I stick with it? I hope so.

Either way, it’s alright.

We are ever-changing. All of us. Yes, even our role models.

Role models

I think of the leaders in the Web3 space I respect, the influencers and founders of NFT projects I’ve invested in.

I’ll give them credit: I’m sure some are experienced and knowledgeable, but I think it’s safe to assume they’re winging it.

And that’s ok. When I first entered the space, I had “goals and plans.” Did they work out?

Sort of. Most didn’t work out exactly the way I expected. But I adjusted and tried something else.

My guess is that the leaders, founders, and, dare I say, the ruggers of the space are following the same formula.

A rugger might think, “I have all this money now, and I’m expected to run a business?? But I don’t know how! I’m going to take the money and just leave.”

I hate them, but I don’t blame them.

It can be scary admitting to not knowing what you’re doing. But you’re not alone. Nobody knows what they’re doing.

We figure it out along the way.

Give others and yourself a little sympathy, trust, and patience. Whatever it is you’re doing, you’re doing great!

*This article was adapted from a Twitter thread by Non Fungible Therapist*

--

--