*Insert Something Cliche About Firsts Here*

Sarim Irfan
The Messy Artist Blogs
2 min readApr 16, 2017

A quick first blog… on blogging.

Blogging is something I’ve wanted to do for years, but I never really knew how to go about it.

I think I now have an idea of the how.

For me, blogging is best when it’s topical. I love reading my friends’ opinions through blogs, be they about new albums, the latest viral instance of social (in)justice, memes, or anything in between. Blogs, to me, are musings of the most personal variety.

That doesn’t necessarily mean I think bloggers should be outchea exposing their innermost feelings on things in every post. What it means is that I feel that any opinions that come up in blogs should be expressed, both unadulterated and unabashedly. Being true to oneself is an important part of the creative process, especially so with blogs.

With that, I conclude the how part of the intro to my blog style. I want to write on topics that interest me, and I want to be open and honest in doing so.

As for when… Well that’s a fair bit to explain. Weekly blogging is the aim, but with May coming up, I may (ha) well take a stab at participating in Blog Every Day May. I have a lot I’d like to talk about, and hopefully engage in discussion with others on.

To end this first of what I hope is many blogs, I’d like to give you some idea of the kinds of things I’ll probably end up writing about.

I joined my university’s newspaper, The Varsity, this year. Of the pieces I’ve written for the publication thus far, my opinion pieces have easily been the most popular. Those opinions have almost always been on various parts of pop culture. I’ve ragged on Riverdale, mildly lampooned More Life, and expressed my love for Star Wars as manically as possible in less than fifty words. It’s been a fun time so far.

That’s ultimately what these blogs are intended to be: opinion pieces on whatever topic has captured our attention this week. I’m here to express views, engage in discussion, and see what others have to say.

Just so I’ve actually expressed an opinion on some pop culture in this first post, here’s my tweet thread on DAMN., Kendrick Lamar’s latest studio album:

Till next we meet,
Sarim.

--

--