https://weandthecolor.com/animations-illustrations-mantas-grauzinis/93357

IKIGAI

The Girl With Gravity Issues
The Messy Hair Journal
3 min readFeb 28, 2018

--

‘Ikigai’ (pronounced Ick-ee-guy) — is a Japanese concept that means “a reason for being.”

In the culture of Okinawa, ikigai is thought of as a reason to jump out of bed each morning; that is, a reason to enjoy life.

When I was first told about this word, I thought Ikigai is a guy who is ickee. For those of you who understand what this means feel very very cool. For those of you who don’t — you ancient folks kindly keep up with the time.

Some days my ikigai is just to ward off lizards, some days it is to just get through a boring day, many days it is to die of food coma and other days it is to be amused. But it is not until a few days back, I really understood the true meaning of it — or so I think. All it took was one phone call from my best friend who was shuffling between getting ready for a wedding and knocking some sense into me. I also got called Ishaan Awasthi (for those of you who don’t know this epic character, kindly find a puddle and then…)

Many articles say that the balance between passion, profession, mission and vocation is the key to attaining your ikigai. But what if I am not a fan of balance? Also having gravity issues doesn’t put balance on the friend radar.

Being sorted is one of the best things and I admire people who know what they want. But there are so many who are taking it as it comes. I would love to know what their ikigai is.

My list of things I want to do is as random as random can get. From wanting to be a receptionist at a hostel in Europe to being a part of Coldplay’s troop. I mean there are a lot of “serious” things in there as well, but I like to look forward to the so-called fun stuff and put the serious ones in a box under my bed. Whatever, however it may seem to the others, it is what it is.

And why not “hum ek baar jeete hain… ek baar marte hain… shaadi bhi ek baar hoti hai, aur pyaar…ek hi baar hota hai!” But wait! Apart from the ek baar jeete and marte part, Rahul did everything else twice. (I’m too scared to type anything against Rahul. I can already feel a plethora of women wanting to rip my hair out or they’ll just scream, “I don’t like you!”)

Sometimes creased clothes are more comfortable than ironed ones.

The problem is that we are all waiting for the perfect time to do something. (I hate to sound preachy, but only a handful is spontaneous enough to not wait for the perfect time). But how do we know when is the perfect time.

In moments like this I connect with my inner Pheobe. I imagine myself stretched out on the floor, wearing a onesie, drinking something very sinful and saying “ I don’t even have a pla.”

Actually I have a plan. I’m going to dunk myself in a tub of missisipimud. Please don’t get any wild thoughts. It’s only the most awesome ice cream flavor ever! I’m nowhere close to being Tata Young and dancing in actual mud, unless…well you won’t know!

--

--