Ossicles and hearing my own voice

Plevish
The Middle of Nowhere
3 min readMar 31, 2017

Why is it that you can listen to yourself speak for the entirety of your life, yet when you hear a recording of your voice, it seems so foreign?

The ossicles, three small bones within the ear, are to blame for the discrepancy between your voice you hear, and your voice others hear.

The vibrating energy that is your voice propagates through the ossicles, where the waves are altered, and then your eardrums interpret the sound. The interpreted sound is new and previously unknown to you. This, more often than not, leads to one hating the voice that others hear.

This relationship translates well to describe the discrepancy between the meaning behind my words and the way they are interpreted.

Throughout my life, there are many aspects that I’ve felt I’m lacking, but none greater than my lack of creativity. Not to say that I myself am not creative, but more so that my lifestyle limits my ability to display the creative ideas that I possess.

Through high school all I knew were sports, and through college, as a 4th year Engineering student, all I know now are numbers and strict guidelines.

So the limiting agent to my creativity has always been time; shackles on a bright mind.

I have always wanted to break these shackles away and create something purely of my own thought, but only recently have the keys been presented to me. I was introduced to this site and more specifically the creation of this “Middle of Nowhere” blog by a lifelong friend and asked to begin creating.

Simply creating, no guidelines or rules, just my thoughts upon a page.

I accepted this offer with little hesitation as I saw what was presented as more than a little blog but the creative outlet I’ve been craving, the creative outlet I need to remove the shackles. So, as I turn to writing as this solution, I’m eager to begin, but I also fear the interpretation of my words.

The Ossicles are the medium that transitively terrifies me as I begin writing. As I write, I understand the meaning behind every word, I know the perspectives I consider as I write subjectively, I hear my voice.

Once these words are shared to the public, they pass through figurative ossicles, and might no longer be the words I meant them to be. Every reader will interpret my ideas as something very different, their own perspective will shine through as they read.

Sports are definite, numbers are definite.

Interpretation of my words is not.

This is new to me. This is what makes the journey I’m about to take a beautiful one, this is what it is to be creative. The fear of the unknown is inherent in all of humanity and that very fear is present inside me even as I write these words.

I want more than ever to grasp the keys graciously placed in front of me, I’m willing to remove these shackles, I’m prepared to hear the discrepancy of the voice that I hear and the one that others hear, I’m ready to face the unknown.

These pages are my ossicles, and this is my voice.

--

--