The Writing Biz

Are You Working on a Book Project?

Would love to hear about it

JoAnn Ryan
Kaleidosphere
Published in
3 min readNov 4, 2022

--

FB avatar created by author

Recently, my husband suggested that I should start writing a book. It would be centered on our lives. I’ve been through a lot of shit and so has he.

Born in Trinidad & Tobago, my husband relocated to New York City (Brooklyn) when he was still just a boy. Thus, he always has many intriguing stories to tell… like that his father was in the mob.

Wow! At first, I thought he was pulling my leg… until I talked to his siblings, and they had the same stories.

I myself grew up in a religious cult, lost my dear mother when I was only 17 and ended up living an acutely tumultuous life. I was homeless several times, recovered from a debilitating mental illness and earned an English degree.

What I really mean to say is that we have plenty of things to write about.

However, it’s not just the details alone. It’s the way the story is told that is most important, right?

That’s the truly hard part to figure out. How best to tell the story.

Content vs book writing

Content writing is of course much different than writing a book. Content writing online is pretty nice and convenient because you…

--

--

JoAnn Ryan
Kaleidosphere

A complete mess but always striving to do better. Owner of Globetrotters, In Living Color and The Midnight Garden.