7 Uniquely Personal Bits of Wisdom To Improve Your Leadership

Practical and proven knowledge from the most obscure places.

Max Klein
The Mightier Pen

--

Photo Credit: G-Stock Studio on Shutterstock

“I just wanted to thank you for being nice to me in high school 27 years ago.”

Wow. What?

I received this message from a girl I wasn’t particularly close with in high school a few months ago. I ensured it wasn’t a cry for help or anything. She was just expressing her gratitude because some people were mean to her back then and I wasn’t.

It was a wonderful message to receive and it reminded me of something helpful for both life but also leadership:

Actions and words can echo for decades, so be more mindful of both.

As someone who has practiced, studied, and written about leadership for 25 years in military, business, and volunteer settings, I can point to a few uniquely personal lessons that changed how I lead for the better.

I hope they can help you in some way as well.

Here they are.

#1. “Whatever you are doing, do it like you mean it.”

This one comes from my dad when I was 13 or so.

--

--