Why Ordinary Women Fall in Love with Serial Killers and Other Murderers

Is It the Murder That’s Attractive or the Psychopathy Behind It?

Joni E. Johnston, Psy. D.
The Mind Detectives

--

used with permission from iclipart.com

As a teenager, my son was convinced that girls his age were turned on by bad boys. No matter how much I argued with him, he pushed backargued that, when it came to romance, nice guys finished last. He would then launch into tales of hot girls in his class who put up with guys who treated them like dirt.

What I didn’t confess was that, during my adolescence, I, too, fell for a few rebels without a cause. These weren’t seriously bad boyfriends; they weren’t controlling or possessive or violent. They were just immature and self-centered and inconsiderate, neither ready or willing to put much effort into a relationship.

Somehow, at the time, this was exciting. It made them more of a challenge. I was going to be the one who changed all that.

Luckily for me, I grew up. I realized that life in the fast lane might be fun for a night or two but, as far as longterm relationship potental, it was a road to nowhere. However, not all grown women lose their fascination with the dark side. Ted Bundy, Ken Bianchi, and Richard Ramirez are just a few of the serial killers who received tons of adoring fan mail and multiple marriage proposals.

--

--

Joni E. Johnston, Psy. D.
The Mind Detectives

Forensic psychologist/private investigator//author of serial killer book. Passionate about victim’s rights, the psychology of true crime, and criminal justice.