May I Be Safe, May I Be Strong, May I Be Happy

Jason Journeyman Wise
mindful journeyman
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2016
Peace sign.

A wise woman once shared a mantra with me. It’s one of happiness and love. There are different versions of this to be found on the internet, but here it is as I learned it.

You start by blessing those you love:

May they be safe. May they be strong. May they be happy.

Next you bless everyone, whether you love them or not:

May we be safe. May we be strong. May we be happy.

Then you finish by pointing this back to yourself:

May I be safe. May I be strong. May I be happy.

The only person you can control is you. The only Facebook rant reaction you can change is your own. The only comment board opinion you have power over yours.

You’re in charge of your mood. You’re in charge of the path you take.

The energy you send out into the world is up to you.

I believe that when you do good, when you hand out smiles instead of scowls, peace signs instead of birds, hugs instead of hatred, that those acts are addictive. Others pick up on them and return the favor or pass it along.

This mantra doesn’t necessarily change the safety, strength, or happiness of others. Just as you’re in charge or your reaction, everyone else is in charge of theirs.

This mantra simply reminds you to change your viewpoint. Start putting happiness out into the world and then maybe, just maybe, that happiness will point back at you.

Every Friday at 5pm, for the past 4 or so years, a calendar alert reminds me of this little mantra. I repeat it a few times to remind myself to spread happiness. To do so even when I’m stressed, even when I’m angry at someone, even when I don’t want to smile.

Happiness inspires happiness. All the peace I wish for the world and for myself can found right here within me, as long as I’m willing to put it out there.

Take a moment out of your day, your week, your month, to wish the world some happiness. Do it in a prayer, a mantra, or simply a kind thought. I doubt we’ll create world peace, but hell, it’s a start.

Originally published at www.getmindfulnow.com.

--

--

Jason Journeyman Wise
mindful journeyman

I call myself a journeyman, because life's all about the journey, man // Artist in Residence for the San Gabriel Mountains National Monument