Photo by Henry & Co. on Unsplash

A Quick Guide to Building Your First Capsule Wardrobe

Charmaine Griffin
MinimalHero
5 min readSep 7, 2018

--

“So in fact, narrowing down our choices means less overwhelm, and more creativity.”
Courtney Carver, Simple Ways to be More with less

A capsule wardrobe is one of the easiest ways to build a closet that reflects your true identity.

Oftentimes when we are shopping we are just picking pieces that we think fit our look or feel in the moment. This thoughtless process tends to lead us to buy way more clothes than we planned. Like all the times we have emotionally binged shopped a sale at H & M only to go home $100 poorer with a random mash-up of clothes we didn’t need.

As a minimalist, I’ve become more intentional about my shopping. Instead of buying a bunch of clothes that are cheap and cute I buy quality pieces that I absolutely love.

It took me a few years to get the hang of it but I’ve mastered a proven system that has kept my inner fashion diva fed while also simplifying my stuff. Even after almost 3 years on this journey I still get the impulse to binge shop every cute look of the season. But I’ve been able to stop myself by recognizing that buying a swath of cheap clothing won’t do anything but clutter up my drawer space.

The first step?

1. Start sorting!

Divide your clothes into three different piles. The first pile is your NO pile. This is where you’ll toss everything that without a doubt doesn’t belong in your wardrobe anymore (ahem… that sweatshirt from 7 years ago).

Second, the MAYBE pile. These are items that you’re torn on because you haven’t worn them, they are sentimental or they aren’t outdated. Be careful with this one because you don’t want a giant pile of maybe’s to sort through. This pile should be the smallest of the three.

Last is your YES pile of clothes that you want. It’s best if these are base items (tops, shirts, dresses) that serve as a foundation for the entire wardrobe.

TIP: For your no item’s try selling your pieces to a consignment store, give them away to friends or take them to your local donation center.

2. Follow the 6-month rule

I was recently organizing a friends closet and she was having a hard time categorizing clothes that she liked but had not worn. I told her that my rule of thumb is 6 months. If I haven’t worn an item in 6 months that let me know I will probably never wear it.

How many of us have jeans that we are still holding onto from college (if they even still fit)? Yes, they are cute but if you find them in the back of your closet and are literally asking yourself “when is the last time I wore these?” then it’s time to let them go!

If the item is just out of season that’s a different story. But if it’s a piece that you don’t remember until you see it, it means you haven’t worn it in a very long time. Do a gut check and if you haven’t worn it in the past 6 months and you have no clue what you’d pair it with in the future, don’t be afraid to chuck the item.

3. Create a base

When building a capsule wardrobe you want to maintain pieces that are such good quality, you don’t need another. A lot of times when we buy more than one of something it’s because we are looking for an alternative color or a backup in case it wears.

We also tend to buy cheap pieces because they are on sale without giving any thought as to whether we already have a similar item. One tendency I have is picking up clothes that look like something I already have in my closet (you can’t have enough black cardigans right?). I have to catch myself to not buy based on my tendencies and shop based on need.

If your capsule wardrobe starts out with the basics, you won’t need to buy duplicates. Stick with one of each signature piece: a black pencil skirt, white collared t-shirt, grey sweater. Your base is what you can transition throughout each season and still add pieces to for a season update.

Make sure each basic is good quality. For example, a sturdy leather jacket will never go out of style. Instead of spending $50 for one that will most likely fall apart by year 2, splurge on a quality jacket or pick up one from a consignment store (and yes, there are quality vegan-leather jackets out there).

4. Divide by season

An easy way to organize your capsule wardrobe is to divide it by seasons. Dividing your wardrobe by seasons keeps you organized. It also lets you change your look at the right time and in honor of weather.

I follow Courtney Carver’s Project 333 rule of changing my wardrobe every 3 months. If I start December 1st, by March 1st I’ll be switching my wardrobe out in time for Spring. You can modify according to the weather where you live.

Keep in mind that in many cases, pieces that work in one season can also translate to another. This keeps your unnecessary shopping at bay and repurposes pieces for other seasons.

5. Don’t skip the trends

If you are a trendsetter, fashion diva or you get antsy to switch up your look every blue moon, embrace it!

I love shoes. I especially love shoes that are on-trend. My problem is I can’t keep buying swaths of shoes everytime a season hits, despite my deepest desires. Instead, I opt for buying one pair that is trendy and can be swapped out with a pair I already own. For instance, switching out platform black heels with a strappy stiletto.

You don’t have to give up your love for fashion when you become a minimalist. If anything you get to dress even better because you’re wearing quality items that are more likely your favorite pieces. If you struggle with your love for fashion and being a minimalist, commit to buying two or three trendy pieces each season to add to your wardrobe. This will spruce up your wardrobe for the season and keep your look up to date.

Unfortunately, there is a lot of stigma around getting rid of your stuff. People assume you are living super austere and wearing the same clothes every day (well…maybe).

The cool thing about building a capsule wardrobe is it pushes you to think outside the box with your style. I like to plan my outfits for the week. I enjoy playing “stylist” and standing in my closet choosing a couple base pieces (one pair of jeans and a pair of black slacks) that I can rotate out with shirts and accessories. I’ve received tons of compliments for my style without people realizing that I’m not buying new clothes every month.

Even if you are on the fence about minimalism, reducing your closet size saves you money and space.

So, what haven’t you worn in 6 months?

--

--

Charmaine Griffin
MinimalHero

Los Angeles born freelance writer, poet, and self-care connoisseur. A minimalist who declutters daily because… shoes. Your future favorite author.