Minimalism is a Lifestyle

Declutter your life, not just your home.

Kai
5 min readJan 21, 2019

With the drastic increase of interest and attention towards “minimalism” after the release of Marie Kondo’s Tidying Up on Netflix, I wanted to highlight that minimalism is a lifestyle.

As much as I, too, have become addicted to getting rid of my useless belongings and decluttering my living spaces, minimalism is more than just tidying up. I have had several friends express their excitement of their newfound joy from following Kondo’s expertise of tidying up, but as excited as one may be to declutter after watching her show or reading her book, the hard and honest truth is that the excitement goes away. Sooner or later, life catches up with you, you get busy and lose track of putting things away. And for many of us, the desire to shop doesn’t disappear. So over time, it becomes just as easy to re-accumulate clutter than it was to get rid of it. If not, easier.

So embarking on this journey of minimalism means implementing simplicity to not only your closets and drawers, but to all other areas of life such as these:

Finances —

For me, finances were a big part of my reason to live simply. I quit a stable full-time job to pursue an entrepreneur lifestyle. That huge risk taught me “wartime living”, basically, living off of basic needs only. I couldn’t keep wasting my money on things that I did not need, so I could live comfortably instead of paycheck to paycheck. I cut back on expenses and simplified my spending by asking myself some key questions whenever I felt the desire to shop or spend money.

  1. Is this a necessity? This question reminds me that I should only buy things that I need. If it isn’t a need, chances are it’ll be in my “toss pile” by the end of the month. Save yourself the clutter and prevent yourself from accumulating junk by refusing to purchase it in the first place.
  2. Is it something I can or will use on a regular, ideally daily, basis? Living simply does not mean having to get rid of everything. Instead, we just need to buy things of worth. Sometimes, certain things may not be a “necessity”. But if it’s something that I will be using on a regular basis, then I consider it to be of worth to my life.
  3. Will it bless others? I give 10% of my paycheck to God as a sign that He controls my finances. With this, I also try my best to never hesitate spending money when it comes to blessing someone else. I am a firm believer in that God blesses whatever I give. And because of this, God has been consistent in providing for me financially in return.

If I cannot answer “yes” to at least one of these three questions, then I don’t have enough justification for my purchase. Thinking through these questions helps me to be intentional about my spending.

I will admit, however, that I get in my impulsive moods and buy something regardless, against my 3-question thought process. But that’s okay, because another part of this lifestyle is being flexible and gracious with yourself. We’re human, not perfect. And the more you try to restrain yourself, the less likely you are to maintain.

Work —

Multitasking isn’t real. Although, I am guilty of stating it as one of my “strengths” in a job interview. But the reality is, if you juggle multiple tasks, your focus becomes divided between all of them. Trying to multitask becomes overwhelming and causes life-clutter and stress. So I have two main tips for decluttering your work life:

  1. Learn to say “no”. Only YOU know what your limits are. If you keep saying yes to tasks you cannot handle, others will assume that you have the capacity to do it. They will ask or demand more and more of you, only until you tell them not to. So if you cannot handle something, be real with yourself to be able to say no. Because at the end of the day, you’re only hurting yourself trying to do more than you can handle.
  2. Use a planner. Writing things out helps to take the clutter of thoughts out of your mind and instead onto paper. Using a planner not only helps you to organize your thoughts, but to visibly see your time commitments and responsibilities. From there, you can prioritize your tasks, be mindful of deadlines, and get a clearer understanding of what you realistically have the time and capacity for. By knowing your own schedule well, you will be better able to simplify by knowing what is a priority in life and what isn’t.

Food —

Just as we minimize the junk in our closets, we also need to minimize the junk in our pantries. Last year, I found out I had a gluten sensitivity. But I still often let myself have “cheat days”. Stupid of me though, because my symptoms come back tenfold, with rashes and stomach pain attacking my body. I am slowly learning that we must listen to our bodies. Our bodies react to whatever we put into them. Everyone’s body and diet is a little bit different. But regardless, we always need to try our best to take care of it. So listen to your body and what it does and does not need. Be aware of what you’re allowing to enter your body: eat clean, eat what’s good for you, and eat what nourishes you. Because a healthy body is the root of a healthy lifestyle.

People —

There are toxic people and toxic relationships. I am a “benefit of the doubt” type person, who always tries to see the good in everyone. But that does not mean there aren’t some relationships that are just plain bad for you. These are the ones that suffocate you, that influence you negatively, that make you make bad decisions. Recognize when these types of people are around. Be mindful of who you spend your time with and who you surround yourself with. Think: who are the people who drain your energy? Who are the people whose company takes more away from you than it gives?

Good relationships should be fruitful, joyful, supportive. Simplify your life by cutting out the people who are hurting you or causing you drama and stress. Don’t keep holding on to bad relationships out of habit and instead make room and time for the ones that bring you joy and fulfillment.

All of these things are as much advice to you as they are to myself. Minimalism is a lifestyle. It is a choice that we actively have to make every day. It is being intentional in what you do and how you live. And that isn’t always easy; it’s easier to live passively. But that’s why this is a journey, on the road less traveled. And that’s why we’re traveling it together.

--

--

Kai

Filipina-American. Aspiring Writer. Struggling Millennial.