Wildflowers

Lisa Talia Moretti
The Minis
Published in
Apr 20, 2024

Lay me down amongst the wildflowers
Bring me poppies for my hair
Hide the midnight
In this blinding light
Dig a hole for
Silent fingers
Biting lips
And swallowed gasps

Lick the sunshine off my skin
All blue and yellow rays
Let me leave fresh marks on you
An ‘S’ is mine to take

Don’t show me the shadows
Cover your hands over my eyes
And when song
Threatens to swell my heart
Fingers crossed
On both hands
Behind your back
And mine

Thread me a daisy chain
Laced together with whimsy and dares and I-owe-yous
Spin me fantasy
An illicit dream
A never-come-true
A carry-to-the-grave

Watch me reach for a dandelion
Deep breath, gently now
“I want you, darling”
And watch my whisper
Disappear in the wind

--

--

Lisa Talia Moretti
The Minis

Digital sociologist. Research Fellow at The GovLab. Associate Lecturer (Goldsmiths, UoL).