10 Books That Changed The Way I Think About Business

And what makes each of them worthwhile.

Minutes
Mission.org
Published in
4 min readApr 30, 2019

--

By Jaleh Bisharat, co-founder and CEO of NakedPoppy

I start and end every day with reading.

While I love to read novels, memoirs, historical fiction, and The New York Times, I’ve learned so much from reading business books.

To me, here’s what makes a business book great:

  • After you finish the book, you walk away with a new approach to work. Maybe you even notice yourself doing things a little differently.
  • It’s well written, with strong storytelling. Great writing is something I savor that makes learning from the author fun.
  • I find myself recommending the book. (To the point of writing posts like this one so you’ll read it, too!)

Here are 10 books that changed the way I think about business:

1. ‘Bad Blood’ by John Carreyrou

In case you’ve been living under a rock, “Bad Blood” tells the story of Elizabeth Holmes and her blood-testing startup, Theranos.

Holmes set the tech world on fire, graced the front of many major publications, and grew Theranos, a company she founded after dropping out of Stanford at 19, to a $9…

--

--

Minutes
Mission.org

A column that values your time. Real insight into tech, business, wellness. Actionable advice. Good writing. Read more at https://minutes.co/