The Best Ambient Noise Generators For Creative Work

Kayla Derstein
Mission.org
Published in
10 min readJul 7, 2016

--

When you’re having a difficult time focusing on a project, sometimes all it takes to find your motivation is the right kind of background noise.

I haven’t regularly used ambient noise generators in the past, but I find myself drawn to them more and more lately. I like them for several reasons:

  • They block out distracting sounds and conversations around me
  • They provide a way to avoid total silence (which I also find cumbersome at times)
  • They keep my mind from wandering
  • Many of them allow you to personalize the listening experience to suit your tastes
  • Many of them are beautifully designed and can add some flavor to your day

If I’m having a hard time focusing, or am distracted by other people or my own, wandering thoughts, I find that the right kind of background noise can really help me block out those distractions and focus on what I’m trying to do.

As a writer, I’ve especially come to appreciate that noise generators usually avoid clearly distinguishable words, like song lyrics or personal conversations. Such words tend to throw off my train of thought and make it difficult for me to pay attention to my own, internal voice.

--

--

Kayla Derstein
Mission.org

2x Top Writer. I find ways to be enjoyably productive. Passionate about storytelling, personal development, and getting the most out of everything we do.