From Employee to Founder to CEO 📚

Mission
Mission.org

--

Humans are not objective, efficient machines. Even the highest performer faces times when productivity falls.

We get too distracted, too confident, too comfortable. We over-commit or under prepare.

And as awkward or painful as it may be, we all have times in our lives when we need to have our egos checked.

Usually — hopefully — a candid pep talk comes from a friend or family member looking out for you and sets you back on course.

But in Ben Hindman’s case, that wake-up call came from the person you least want to hear it from… his boss.

“I think they were torn whether or not I was the right person for the job. After about two years working there, it became clear that I was not, and that was really hard for me… The people who I worked for and worked with were very clear that I was not performing well.”

Ben is now the co-founder and CEO of an event marketing software company called Splash. But before he became his own boss, he was an employee. And as Ben shares on The Journey, sometimes it’s the lessons you learn as an employee that set you up best for success when you become a founder.

Note From The CEO 🤓

You want to win a battle you or a loved one is fighting.

You know it’s not your fault or anyone else’s.

You know you need persistence to find the perfect help.

So what does the “perfect” help look like?

(Side note: This, and all content we produce, are for entertainment purposes only. We’re not professionals, we’re advocating you find the right/perfect professionals for you!)

First, you’re looking for as close to perfect as you can find. “Perfect” is the ideal, and there will be many times along your journey where you’ll have to settle for as close to perfect as you can find.

For me, I was searching for the ‘perfect’ professionals to help me. It was clear I had PTSD, depression, and it had been with me since I was a child. Now I was ready to start healing and cure it.

I learned everything I could. Eventually, I found scientific backed research that pointed to the healing path and cures I needed. I educated myself. I contacted dozens of professionals familiar with this work. I applied to dozens of clinical studies to cure PTSD.

Eventually, I found a group of professional MD’s, Phd’s, and therapists that had been working to cure PTSD and extreme depression with much success. Many of them had been through what I was going through. I heard and listened to several testimonials from people who won with their help. They were also located close to my home.

After years of persistence and searching, I’d finally found as near perfect a team of professionals as I could imagine.

Tomorrow, we’ll talk about a principle you can apply to help win your battles.

– Chad Grills, Mission Founder and CEO

Build Something That People Actually Want 🏗

In today’s Mission Daily episode, we sit down with Mathilde Collin, the CEO of Front.

Let’s be real… Email threads suck. Keeping inbox 0 is near impossible. And things get missed All. The. Time.

If you’d like to imagine a bright future for email — better correspondence, being more effective — Front is working on it.

Today, Mathilde and Chad talk about:

  • How to become happier at work
  • Getting the balance right between your personal identity and your business identity
  • What email would be like if it was designed today and how they would reimagine it
  • Where Mathilde’s competitive motivations come from and how she channels them into her mission at Front as well as her life outside
  • Mathilde’s experiences at Y Combinator and working with investors and partners
  • Plus, Mathilde shares how she builds a fun, ‘Lego-centric’ culture

Tune in to the whole conversation.

A quick shout out to our friends at TriNet for making today’s episode possible! TriNet makes HR easier, from payroll to benefits to compliance. AND they offer full-service solutions tailored to your industry and your company, whether your team is 10 people or 1,000. Check out TriNet today at trinet.com.

Sign Off 🧐

Feedback, thoughts, questions, comments? Reach out to us anytime by emailing info@mission.org or hitting us up on the socials @TheMissionHQ!

We’ll see you tomorrow! ✌️

If you like what you read, join us on our mission.

--

--