How to Read 50 Books Per Year Without Really Trying (Even If You’re a Super Slow Reader)

A straight-forward plan for automatically boosting your book count

Jared A. Brock
Mission.org

--

“Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.” ― Lemony Snicket

I wasn’t much of a book lover in my teenage and college years, but in my early twenties I became a voracious reader. As my writing and film career began to grow, I found myself busier than ever, but I’ve continued to read ~50 books per year for nearly a decade. And I’m not a fast reader: the average American reads 250–400 words per minute (WPM) and I’m on the low end.

Thankfully, reading 50 books per year really isn’t that difficult, even if you’re a slow reader like myself. All it takes is a little discipline and a few quick environmental tweaks.

But first, a nerdy math equation:

50 books x 50,000 words/book = 2.5 million words2.5 million words / 250 WPM = 10,000 minutes10,000 minutes / 60 each hour = 167 hours167 hours / 365 days = 27.5 minutes per day

--

--

Jared A. Brock
Mission.org

Read my new myth-busting book on the politics, economics, and philosophy of history's most influential revolutionary: https://agodnamedjosh.com/