If you have to talk about your success, then you aren’t actually successful.

If You Have to Talk About Your “Success,” Then You Aren’t Actually Successful

Jeff Goins
Mission.org
Published in
5 min readSep 4, 2017

--

These days, there is no shortage of people talking about what they’re doing and how successful they are. You see it all over social media:

  • Gurus.
  • Experts.
  • Growth hackers.

It’s a little overwhelming, isn’t it? But are these people as awesome as they claim?

In college, I had a friend named Seth who was the smartest guy I ever knew. We had the same major, so we shared a lot of the same classes. The difference between the two of us, though, was that I was always running my mouth and he never said a word.

I thought I knew the answers, so I would share them. Seth would just listen. Then, every once in a while, he’d say something that blew everyone’s mind, including the professor’s. It didn’t happen very often, but when it did, we all were amazed.

I think we would be better off if the world was filled with more people like Seth.

The Inverse Relationship Between Talking and Doing

I have a theory about this.

There seems to be an inverse relationship between how much a person talks about what they’re doing and how much they’re actually…

--

--

Jeff Goins
Mission.org

Writer. Speaker. Entrepreneur. Father of two. Bestselling author of 5 books. Read more at goinswriter.com.