Stop Talking About Your Morning Routine

A.J. Juliani
Mission.org
Published in
3 min readFeb 20, 2018

Enough.

I can’t tell you how many articles I’ve read about morning routines.

Seriously, I get it. You wake up and meditate. Maybe you exercise. You only eat a certain type of food. No coffee for you (maybe a special type of coffee or tea…yea, tea is good).

Then you journal. Or write something. And read, yes, reading is good.

And all of this is supposed to make you successful. The morning routine is supposed to transform your life.

I call BS.

If you get work done in the morning and FINISH stuff in the morning then that’s great.

But, the morning routines aren’t what makes you a winner and successful.

It doesn’t set you apart from the millions of people that can’t accomplish anything in a given day and get stuck procrastinating.

No, it’s not your morning routine.

It’s not your “habits” that have made you successful.

And it’s not “habits” that will take you to the next level.

The only two habits you need are learning how to start something and learning how to finish and accomplish something.

That’s it.

You want to know what the most successful people in the world do?

They start stuff.

They start things other people are too scared to start.

Then they do the work and finish.

They don’t stop at a cool idea.

They don’t stop when the going gets tough.

They don’t only do work in the mornings. They get finish whatever needs to be done, when it needs to be done.

Why should you listen to me?

Well, you shouldn’t.

You shouldn’t even be reading this article.

It’s just a big waste of time keeping you from actually DOING THE WORK.

So, enough about your cool morning routine.

That’s nice.

I’m going to focus on starting and finishing. Sometimes that is going to be in the morning (especially because I have four little kids).

Sometimes that is going to be in the middle of the day (because that is when the rest of the world works).

Sometimes that is going to be at night (because if things need to be finished I’m going to finish them).

But, keep on planning out your morning to get it “just right”…I’m sure that will be helpful in the long run.

Planning your morning routine is all about motion and not about action. James Clear sums it up perfectly in a recent article:

Motion is when you’re busy doing something, but that task will never produce an outcome by itself. Action, on the other hand, is the type of behavior that will get you a result. [1]

Here are some examples…

If I outline 20 ideas for articles I want to write, that’s motion. If I actually write and publish an article, that’s action.

If I email 10 new leads for my business and start conversations with them, that’s motion. If they actually buy something and turn into a customer, that’s action.

If I search for a better diet plan and read a few books on the topic, that’s motion. If I actually eat a healthy meal, that’s action.

If I go to the gym and ask about getting a personal trainer, that’s motion. If I actually step under the bar and start squatting, that’s action.

If I study for a test or prepare for a research project, that’s motion. If I actually take the test or write my research paper, that’s action.

Stop talking about your morning routine like it’s some type of magic productivity pill.

It’s not.

The magic is because you are a person who does the work instead of talking about doing the work.

Good luck!

You are going to need it.

We all need it.

The world is filled with distractions and excuses to not do the work, to not start that idea, to not finish that project.

And that’s why most people are reading this instead of ACTING.

So, please.

Go DO.

Right now.

Look, I don’t even have some fancy lead magnet for you to sign up for anything below and get access to some fancy thing.

Because I want you to do the work. And I know you can. We all can.

Go win.

--

--

A.J. Juliani
Mission.org

I write about what I’m learning. Dad to 5 kids. INC 5000 Founder of Adaptable Learning. WSJ Bestselling Author. K-12 Dir of Innovation. UPenn GSE PLN Faculty.