Take a Break, But Don’t Let it Break You

Adam Arbour
Mission.org
Published in
3 min readMay 21, 2018

The last time I wrote on Medium was October 23, 2017.

It was 4 days before my 30th birthday, I’ll save you yet another “30 Life Lessons from 30 Years Lived” posts.

I took a solo trip to Northern Michigan and stayed in a tiny house Airbnb in the woods. I wanted to get away, experience the beauty of that part of my state I hadn’t yet visited, and get some much needed Adam time.

As I was venturing that way I was called and offered a job position for a couple months, helping one of my most influential mentors transition in a tough spot for her program.

I mulled over the decision on my trip, that wasn’t my intention going in; but that’s life. I decided that I would regret not stepping up to help move the program forward.

With this decision, I unconsciously walked away my writing and my fitness focus and I allowed all of my energy to be consumed in this new opportunity.

I didn’t realize this shift until reflecting on my values and my priorities these past couple days.

What lessons have I learned or have been reinforced throughout this experience? What will I take with me from this hiccup?

Bend, But Don’t Break

This is a saying and lesson I’ve learned through my years coaching college athletics, but it applies to all areas of life; especially our habits.

When you intentionally create a habit, you did it for a reason. Keep this idea front of mind when the habit is fresh and new. It is easy to slide back into your old ways and completely undo all your hard work.

As hard as it was to create those good habits in the first place, it’s just as easy (if not easier…) to slide back into your comfortable ways.

Go a day or two without writing. Go a meal or two of eating without being mindful.

Get back on track as quick as you can. Be intentional with your life.

Bend, but don’t break.

You Can Talk Yourself Into Anything

ANYTHING.

We are creatures of comfort. Our default mode is to pick the easy choice. Conserving energy was imperative to our ancestors, but today we have taken that to an extreme. There is too much convenience.

As Joe Rogan always says, “One of the worst decisions a man can make is to be comfortable.”

If we can talk ourselves into anything, let us talk ourselves into doing the uncomfortable or hard thing.

Then we can enjoy the fruits of our hardship.

Reflection is a Major Key

You can only learn from and evaluate your life by reflecting on it.

If I made this a habit back in October, I probably wouldn’t have let my “priorities” slide for so long.

Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly reflection is available to us. Let’s take advantage of this most valuable learning and self-improvement habit.

Using a planner, journaling, and creating a bookend routine to your day with reflection can catapult your development forward.

Own It, Don’t Blame It

Take responsibility for a break in your habits, but don’t make it personal or emotional.

Create a sense of distance from “yourself” and see what happened. Establish some perspective.

Give yourself advice that you would give to a friend.

You wouldn’t tell your friend that “they suck”, “they aren’t as strong as they think”, or “they will never get out of this hole”. Why do we say this to ourselves. What you say into the mirror are some of the most important words you will ever say.

Take ownership of your faults, adjust, and get back to life.

Creating habits worth keeping is tough, but worth it. It is easy to fall off the wagon. If you do, don’t stay there. Get back on as soon as you can.

I broke for a season, but I’m BACK.

Learn from me:

Bend, but don’t break.

Call to Action

I created two SHORT (under 2min read) references to help anyone get back on track with their health and fitness. If you’re interested in Losing Weight By Eating or Intermittent Fasting, check them out.

--

--

Adam Arbour
Mission.org

| Success | High Performance | Habits | Productivity | From a National Champion Coach