Testing Human Limits: How to Build Life-Changing Mental Resiliency

Jason Gutierrez
Mission.org

--

“The only way to discover the limits of the possible is to go beyond them into the impossible.” — Arthur C. Clarke

Imagine yourself riding a bike. The wind whipping against your face. Freedom of the open road. A cool breeze sending chills down your spine.

Now imagine riding that bicycle for 3,000 miles, across the entire continental United States, from California to Maryland. One hour of sleep per day, for ten days straight.

Quite the different experience, huh?

Some of you might already be thinking, “Holy shit. No chance in hell.”

Just wait, it gets better.

During this ride, conditions are so intense that the muscles in your neck physically “nope” out. One thousand miles into the race, those muscles are fatigued to the point where they can no longer support the weight of your own head.

Without hesitation, knowing that you still have 2,000 miles to go, you break out the duct tape and do some engineering on the fly, rigging a contraption to keep your head level and eyes safely on the road.

For the next seven and a half days, you ride like this until crossing the finish line in beautiful Annapolis.

If that sounds absolutely ridiculous, trust me, you’re not alone. But that was the reality of 60-year old Paul Danhaus in his 2009 inaugural Race Across America (RAAM).

I’m Apparently Just a Big Weenie

As a fairly in-shape 28-year old guy, I was floored when I first heard about the RAAM from this 2010 Radiolab podcast about human limits.

To give you a little window into my past, ever since 2007, anxiety and gut issues spiraled my health down a deep, dark hole that took several years to claw and scrape my way out. Exercise, among other healthy habits, helped me bounce back. Thus becoming a major staple in my life.

One activity I always stayed away from, however, was running. Mostly because I’m terrible at it. Recently though, I decided to give it another go.

The first few times I tried running again, I experienced horrible flashbacks of my high school cross country days, an activity my mom forced me into so that “I didn’t become a drug addict and drop out of school.”

I would feel winded after a few short minutes. Muscles and joints I forgot I had ached. All of those failed in comparison to the overbearing voice in my head telling me:

“This really sucks, man. Just give up. Stop.”

“STOP.”

But this time around, I didn’t.

Back in high school, I’m fairly certain I sucked at running because this inner dialogue won most of the time. It made me feel like a big weenie…which I was.

After many years of struggle, building new habits, and learning about myself, I’m happy to say that I now mostly win this argument.

Even though running still sucks, and even though I mostly still suck at it, I’m able to push through my workouts thanks to my newfound mental resilience.

I’m clearly no Paul Danhaus, but the fact that I’m a much better runner sparked my interest in the limits of human capabilities.

Hence this article.

Pushing the Limits

Enough about me, let’s get back to Paul.

The neck condition he faced during the Race Across America is somewhat common amongst ultra-endurance cyclists. It got its name — Shermer’s Neck — from another cyclist, Michael Shermer, who first experienced the condition in the 2nd ever RAAM.

Think about this…

Forty-five minutes of running pushes most people past their limits.

This guy endured 3,000 miles of biking, in ten days, sleeping only one hour per day. (Yes, it was so crazy I had to remind you again.)

I don’t care if you’re on a bike or not, forget about limits, that’s just insane.

As it turns out though, the human body is physically capable of some pretty ridiculous feats of endurance, the limits of which many never come close to in their lives.

When you try something as simple as running a few miles without stopping, it’s almost certainly not the physical limits of your body being tested — though I do think it’s important to say that there is certainly a physical aspect of training involved.

…What’s likely happening is your mental toughness being put on trial and wanting to give up.

The Central Governor Theory and Some…Energy Drink?

There is a theory that suggests some part of your brain acts as a central governor, which controls your energy supply and decides when to shut your body down so that no permanent or life-threatening harm comes to you.

This “governor” is conservative in nature, triggering pain signals to your body WAY earlier than you actually need. It’s your body’s safeguard to get you to rest so that you don’t fully deplete your energy supply.

In the example of running, think of this as the moment when your body starts telling you:

“STOP, you crazy mother effer! This hurts.”

Instead of your body actually being near its physiological capabilities, it’s your brain safeguarding you just in case. In reality, you likely have way more in the tank than you think.

Some scientists put this theory to the test. They set up an experiment with bikers on stationary bikes and had them pedal something like 40 km. The bikers were divided into two groups, each one receiving an energy drink to consume while biking.

But, here’s the catch…

Neither group actually drank the energy drink.

Instead, they swished it into their mouths and…spit it out.

Swish. Spit. Pedal. Repeat.

Here’s where things got super interesting. The first group was given real energy drink to swish and spit while the other group was given a placebo. Both drinks tasted exactly the same — one just didn’t have any positive energy effect.

It was a double blind experiment, so nobody knew who was getting what.

You would think that one of two things might happen…

  1. Either no one would get any benefit because no one is actually consuming the energy drink.
  2. Or, the taste of the drink, regardless of composition, gives both groups a placebo effect and everyone gets a boost.

The scientists were blown away when they discovered that only the bikers who swished the REAL energy drink got a boost. And not just a little extra oomph. In most cases, these bikers performed at a higher level for several extra minutes.

In a 40 km race that’s easily the difference between finishing first and coming in dead last.

Is the Central Governor Theory Really True?

Nobody knows for sure yet whether this theory is true. But scientists have their suspicions, and it’s clear that something special was going on.

The thought behind this particular experiment was that something inside the bikers’ bodies picked up on the incoming mouthful of energy.

When sugar hit the tongue, the tongue sensed it and sent a message to brain…

“Oooh, energy incoming!”

This got the governor excited. It saw this message and thought…

“Oh, we’re about to get some energy, go ahead and keep draining the tank!”

So you see, when you think you are tired, or physically incapable of pushing forward, you likely aren’t even close. It’s just your self-elected, all-powerful “governor” telling you to stop.

How to Build Life-Changing Mental Resiliency

If the Central Governor Theory is true, then it might explain why I’m a much better runner now than years past.

It’s not that I’m any more capable physically. In fact, at 28-years old, I’m probably less capable than in high school. What’s most likely happening is that I’m mentally stronger than ever before.

I’m certainly not claiming I’m the next Jocko Willink or anything crazy like that. But, I have developed my own life-changing mental resiliency.

This extra brain power has helped me to:

  • Push through enduring physical workouts
  • Wake up earlier
  • Develop the discipline to get shit done
  • Cultivate healthier habits, and
  • A whole slew of other benefits that have greatly improved my life.

How can you build your own life-changing mental resiliency? In my experience, here’s what I’ve found to be the recipe:

1. Practice Mindfulness

Leo Babauta says that mindfulness is the key to everything.

I’ve found this to be overwhelmingly true. If you have control over your mind and thoughts, you have the power to do incredible things.

In the case of pushing your limits, being mindful opens your eyes to what’s really going on when feeling tired. You become aware of the fact that you can physically push on, it’s just your brain that doesn’t want you to.

A mindful person would be able to pause and think…

“Oh, my mind wants to quit, but my body can definitely handle much more.”

Understanding those urges to quit, recognizing them for what they are, then pushing past them builds your mental resiliency over time.

The best way I’ve found to practice mindfulness is by meditating. Meditation is as simple as sitting with your thoughts for a few minutes while focusing on your breath.

Thoughts come and go, and you will have to resist getting lost in them. Instead, notice those thoughts, watch them pass by, then gently return to your breath.

If you’re totally lost or new to meditating, start with an app like Headspace. There’s also Calm and a whole slew of other free, incredibly useful apps and guides to get you started.

The medium you choose to help you doesn’t matter — the most important thing is that you start.

2. Stop Avoiding Struggle. Instead, Seek It Out

Most people spend their entire lives avoiding struggle.

What those people don’t understand is that struggle makes you strong. It makes you grow. It makes you a better person. And it makes you tougher mentally. (Now that I think about it, lots of people probably know this, they just don’t care.)

There is a time and place for sitting on the couch, binge watching yet another Netflix show. That time is not all day, every day.

If you truly want to build life-changing mental resiliency, you have to start testing your limits.

Yes, it will really suck at first. But every time you struggle, you get a little bit stronger.

I’m not going to say things will get easier. They won’t. In fact, they will almost certainly get harder. But, as you struggle and grow, you will be better equipped to handle it, both physically and mentally.

“Do not pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one” — Bruce Lee

Yesterday you made it five minutes jogging outside, even though you wanted to quit after the thirty seconds.

That’s one rep for your mental toughness.

Today, let’s make it six minutes. That’s another rep.

Over time, you will get used to struggle. It won’t seem so bad. Coupled with your newfound mindfulness, you will come to realize that the thing you feared most (feeling like crap while working out) is actually your best friend.

It’s helping you through life.

So stop seeking comfort and instead find the strength in being uncomfortable.

If I had to rewrite this entire article in just a couple of sentences, it would read something like…

“People need struggle. Struggle makes you stronger physically, and pushing through struggle makes you tougher mentally. So go do tough things.”

3. Practice the 40% Rule

There’s some crazy statistic that 99% of people who start a marathon end up finishing. Surprising, right? But there’s a reason for this, and it’s something the Navy SEALs use to build mental resilience called the 40% Rule.

I first heard of this rule from Jesse Itzler, the founder of Marquis Jet and also the husband to the woman behind Spanx.

After witnessing a Navy SEAL complete an entire 100-mile race by himself (while Jesse was running it with five friends as a part of a six-person relay team), Jesse invited the SEAL to live with him and his family for a month.

While living with him, the SEAL introduced the 40% rule.

“He would say that when your mind is telling you you’re done, you’re really only 40 percent done. And he had a motto: If it doesn’t suck we don’t do it. And that was his way of forcing us to get uncomfortable to figure out what our baseline was and what our comfort level was and just turning it upside-down.”

That Navy SEAL turned out to be David Goggins, who just so happens to be the world-record holder for most pull-ups done in 24 hours (over 4,000 reps), among a shitload of other incredible feats.

Goggins has done, and continues to do, some pretty amazing things. The 40% rule has helped him to build the mental resiliency to keep pushing through, no matter how much his mind wants to give up.

The next time you’re physically struggling, wanting to give up with every fiber of your body, think of this rule…

Then push through like the badass you know you are.

Before you go

I’m Jason Gutierrez. I practice mindfulness and I write about life. I’m not the next David Goggins, Paul Danhaus, or Usain Bolt, but I have overcome a ton of obstacles to become the healthy, happy person I am today.

If you enjoyed this article, you might love my free 7-day mindfulness email course to learn the basics, reduce stress, and improve happiness. Get started here.

If you enjoyed this story, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it! Feel free to leave a comment below.

The Mission publishes stories, videos, and podcasts that make smart people smarter. You can subscribe to get them here. By subscribing and sharing, you will be entered to win three (super awesome) prizes!

--

--

Jason Gutierrez
Mission.org

Engineer. Papa. I share short essays and stories on careers, life, and the creative process 🖊: https://parttimewriting.beehiiv.com/subscribe