The 7 Spiritual Laws of Divorce

The case for divorce as the ultimate spiritual growth tool

Brandon Evans
Mission.org

--

When all your desires are distilled; You will cast just two votes: To love more, And be happy. — Rumi

Two and a half years ago, a day before my 38th birthday, my then-wife and I decided to end things. We were just ten days shy of our first anniversary.

I wrote about the three-year period of spiritual growth that would follow in my first post, Lost on Purpose. I didn’t realize in writing that post was how important a role the divorce has had in my growth. The lessons I’ve learned likely could have been learned in other ways. I see now how deeply profound they have become for me because I have learned them this way.

If you had asked me before I met my ex-wife if I thought I’d get divorced, I would have been nearly 100% sure the answer was no. I am fiercely loyal (a Leo), rarely break my word, am a great judge of character, and spent nearly 35 years of my life searching for “the one.” My parents have been married for forty-five years, and I come from a very…

--

--

Brandon Evans
Mission.org

Recovering Type A | Aspiring Type Be | Chief Elevation Officer + Founder @ 1heart.com | Coach & Guide to Heart-Led Entrepreneurs | brandonevans.be