What I Learned from “7-Days Doing Nothing” Strategy

Pawan Kumar
Mission.org
Published in
4 min readJan 19, 2018

--

The moment I’m writing this article, I have completed my one week shutdown.

And I want to share my experience what I learned from “Doing Nothing”.

I’m a digital marketing professional and a freelance writer, so my work doesn’t allow me to stay away from digital channels (or I can say distractions) like social media, email, Internet, and phone. I have to available on these channels most of my time.

But recently I had a minor surgery and my doctor advised me to take rest. But she said that I can use laptop and mobile.

But I decided to be “non-accessible” for 7-days. I decided not to give control of my attention something else other than myself.

And my 7-days doing nothing strategy started. I disconnected my Internet connection and switched off my phone.

I didn’t use social media.

I didn’t check emails.

I didn’t do any text or call (my friends and family got mad at me because they couldn’t reach me).

I didn’t even read newspapers or books (As I’m an avid reader).

I didn’t write anything.

In short, I did NOTHING and I didn’t consume anything.

--

--

Pawan Kumar
Mission.org

Writer. Inbound Marketer. An Ambivert. Featured on Entrepreneur, Jeff Bullas, Addicted 2 Success, & HuffPost. My LInkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/prepawan/