“… and Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

What It’s Like To Die Before You Die

“… and then feel fully alive.”

Brian Pennie, PhD
P.S. I Love You
Published in
5 min readOct 10, 2018

--

Fifteen years of addiction had taken a climactic hold. I lost my job, my mind, every important relationship in my life, and my body was rapidly deteriorating.

I finally decided that I needed help, but I was too much of an insurance risk for detox. Apparently, I had too many drugs in my system??? They told me to come back in a month when everything bar opiates had left my body. But I couldn’t wait, I needed to take action and decided to do cold-turkey at home.

The following few months were the most painful of my life, but also, I believe, the very thing that saved me.

Breaking Bad

I was two days into my home detox, and when I came around, I was lying on the sitting room floor with my face in a puddle of blood. It wasn’t my first or last cold-turkey seizure, but it was certainly my worst. The force of the convulsions had driven my teeth through my tongue; that’s where the blood was coming from, and every muscle in my body felt battered and bruised.

My younger brother thought I was dead and rang my dad in a panic. But moments later, in a complete daze, I crawled back up on the couch, and tried to watch my favourite TV show, ‘Breaking Bad’. I know, it doesn’t make sense, but it seemed like the most…

--

--

Brian Pennie, PhD
P.S. I Love You

Change is possible. I write to show that | Recovered heroin addict turned doctor. www.brianpennie.com