What We Should Have Learned in School But Never Did

Srinivas Rao
Mission.org
Published in
24 min readJan 24, 2018

--

For the last ten years, I’ve read 100s of books and interviewed more than 700 people. We have an ongoing joke at The Unmistakable Creative. My guest choices are usually a reflection of some problem in my life. I guess you could say I’ve been trying to figure out what we should have learned in school but never did.

Fortunately for me, it seems like most of our listeners are interested in those same issues. There’s one big lesson I’ve taken away from my guests on the Unmistakable Creative: There are many life skills that we should have learned in school but never did. I would have taken a different approach in college, my career, and my relationships knowing what I do at age 41.

Our current model of education is outdated and ineffective. We live in a world where access to knowledge and information is ubiquitous. The value of memorizing information to regurgitate it, pass tests and get good grades has declined. According to Chase Jarvis, we’re moving towards a portfolio model of careers. Kids growing up today will probably have five jobs at the same time. But the current model of education is preparing them for a future that doesn’t exist.

If the purpose of education is to turn us into fully functional, happy and healthy adults, it is failing on numerous levels.

What We Should Have…

--

--

Srinivas Rao
Mission.org

Candidate Conversations with Insanely Interesting People: Listen to the @Unmistakable Creative podcast in iTunes http://apple.co/1GfkvkP