Dear Diary 5/1/17

Hell Week Day #1

Chris Mocko
THE MOCKO SHOW
4 min readMay 2, 2017

--

6:55a Woke up naturally to birds a-chirping (it sounds idyllic, but it gets a bit annoying after Bird Alarm Day #46) and sun coming through my blinds. Passed out like a rock last night for almost 8 full hours of sleep. Good start to the day.

7:00a Weighed-in at 162.8lbs — must still be dehydrated from yesterday’s run. Thirty-second cold shower to wake-up the body. Tendons behind right knee are a bit tight, legs feeling the weekend’s back-to-back long runs (23mi on Sat, 17.5mi on Sun).

7:15a Breakfast! Coffee, 1 cup of oatmeal, 1 egg added to oatmeal as it was simmering, cinnamon, sprinkle of Maldon sea salt, and a banana with peanut butter on the side. (I’ll take a pic of my concoction tomorrow!)

8:30a Still hungry. And sleepy. Slice of toast with peanut butter. And another cup of coffee.

9:00a Began Silicon Valley episode. Do I need a third coffee?

9:45a Found my momentum to begin my run! 5-minute core, stretching, rolling and then out the door by 10:30a.

10:45a Finally out the door. Here’s what I used on my run:

Relied on the entire family of GU products to stay fueled #sponsorthisguy

You can fuel like a pro with your own GU Energy products!

10:45a-2:00p 20 mile run in 2:48 (8:22/mi pace)! Took less than a mile to start having doubts about Hell Week. Super hot (89 degrees!), SUN-ny and legs fatigued. But if this was easy everyone would do it, right? Reset pace expectations, hiked when I needed to hike, and focused on relaxing in the heat. Solid start to week!

View on my run…meh.

2:00p Dehydrated. Finished my 1.5L bladder at the 2.5 hour mark and the last 20 minutes were pretty tough. Took two salt tablets at 90 mins and 135 mins, which helped (need to remember tablets on these hot days). Scale read 159lbs, which means I lost more than 3lbs on the run. Normally that would be exciting (I’m getting skin-neh!), but I know this means I’m under-hydrated. Hydration and recovery will be the focus for the rest of the day.

2:30p Pancakes (obviously). Chocolate protein powder + 1 egg added to my standard Kodiak Cakes mix to assist in the recovery.

3:00p Called the parentals. Happy 41st Anniversary, Mom and Dad!

Can’t imagine maintaining a 41-day relationship, let alone 41 years! Probably helps having amazing sons…

3:30p Costco! Decided to treat myself with a big shopping spree. Free samples were ON POINT (I needed the extra calories). Items I’m most excited about consuming this week: tri-tip steak (5lbs!), guacamole, Rotisserie Chicken Florentine Stromboli (new product!), and chicken flautas (front-runner for Cinco de Mayo snacking). Chatted about El Cinco with the Costco cashier who asked when it was this year. I told him I thought it was May 5th. Hoping the Costco re-stocking will keep me fueled throughout the week!

Free sample of the day! Glad Kirkland didn’t call them “Goldducks”.

6:00p TIRED. Probably too late for a nap, so I guess we’re going to have to power through it (6pm might be a tad early for bedtime, even for me). Commence tri-tip preparations.

6:10p Ok. Maybe a quick nap wouldn’t hurt. Shut-eye for <10 mins.

8:00p Legs are trashed. Hoping some rolling and stretching before bed will help here. Shutting down the laptop for the evening, so we’ll see you tomorrow. Big focus for Tuesday: getting through my massive hill workout — 6 x 10' hill (route)! Big focus for tonight: will I stay up long enough to watch last night’s episode of Veep?

See you in the morning!

--

--

Chris Mocko
THE MOCKO SHOW

Quit my tech job to go running. Training for Western States and Ultra-Trail Mont Blanc. Follow my miles: http://strava.com/athletes/mocko