Dear Diary 5/6/17

Hell Week Day #6

Chris Mocko
THE MOCKO SHOW
2 min readMay 7, 2017

--

4:15a Early wake-up! Would like to be out the door at a reasonable hour, but also want my coffee time ;)

4:30a Coffee + oatmeal.

6:00a Go time! Going to miss the sunrise but I love that first hour of light.

1:00p Annnnnnd we’re back. Went out for 31–35 miles. Ended up with 37mi (thanks to some wrong turns and too much beautiful weather!). 5hrs 40mins (9:11/mi) and 7.6k ft of climbing. Was feeling the suffer (do I really need to do this for another 63 miles in <1.5 months?), but legs were still working at least. Forced myself to do the Miwok climb instead of skipping out on the last ascent and took the steeper descent back to the house to make sure my quads would feel it (and they did!). Dialing in that mental game!

Some views from the trail

2:00p Itching a little bit. I definitely got some poison oak out there today. Yikes. But it’s lunch time! Pancakes with protein powder (too hungry to overthink this one).

2:30p Nap time. Didn’t sleep much but kept my legs up to drain them a bit. Pulsing the whole time and HURTING. This was a good run.

3:30p NormaTec time and email.

5:30p Where the heck did the day go? Dinner time I guess? Spinach salad, steak, cornbread and MY FIRST BEER OF THE WEEK. It was lovely.

7:00p Turning this guy off early. Might actually try to be social this evening for a bit. 22–27 miles tomorrow (focus will be on getting in some quality climbing) so let’s hope my legs wake up when I do in the morning!

Biggest open question: will I watch SNL before or after my run?

Like what you read? Give this post a ♥ or share it with friends. Don’t do it for me, do it for them. And be sure to subscribe to The Mocko Show publication.

Looking for even more? Follow the action on Strava and Instagram. And get the latest news first from the source — mockoshow.com.

--

--

Chris Mocko
THE MOCKO SHOW

Quit my tech job to go running. Training for Western States and Ultra-Trail Mont Blanc. Follow my miles: http://strava.com/athletes/mocko