Where can I find Catholic Churches Near Me?

Aurora A
The Modern Catholic
3 min readJan 24, 2016

Every so often comes in my life a time when I must find Catholic churches near me. This is necessitated by my profession which requires me to travel regularly. The always reliable Mass Times is currently my preferred solution to this predicament; I’d recommend it for everyone. Once I have shortlisted some Catholic churches near me, the next big challenge is usually narrowing down my choice to the most orthodox parish in the diocese.

Remember that you have to find right a Catholic parish that fits your personal preferences and does not have to settle for a mediocre service.

Source: Mass Times

Filtering the parishes can now be done online thanks to the Catholics church’s initiative to grow its presence online. You can seek out the individual parish’s social media accounts as well as its websites and use the available information to access its condition. A proper modern Catholic church should have a very intuitive experience for its congregation online, making it easy for one to reach out to nearby members of the parish. This is a step I always undertake while surveying Catholic churches near me as it is simpler than its alternative.

The alternative method for filtering individual parishes involves visiting each and every shortlisted church. This is a tedious and time-consuming exercise despite the numerous benefits it may provide. For starters, it gives a real-life impression as compared to an online church which may turn out to be just an illusion. Also, you can also meet members of the parish and hopefully make some friends. This has always helped me every time I’ve had to find Catholic churches near me as it reduces the nervousness of visiting a new parish and knowing anybody there.

There are an estimated 1.2 billion Roman Catholics in the world.

catholic churches near me

Source: BBCI

This means that one out seven people in the world are Catholic. Furthermore, there are over 1 million Catholic churches in the world meaning that the chance of you missing out on a parish to attend for Sunday mass is almost impossible. Catholics are everywhere, especially in Latin America, which accounts for the top ten countries with high Catholic population. I wish I knew that during my earlier days when I was too scared to find new Catholic Churches near me, especially during my travels. I wonder how many Sunday masses I might have missed.

The Catholic Church continues to grow despite the media portraying it as a dying fad. In fact, the number of Catholics in Africa has tripled in the last 30 alone. There are also numerous initiatives commissioned by our new pope that seem to have alleviated the image of the Catholic church to its members which means that people who had abandoned the church due to disappointment in the administration are back further increasing the number of faithful globally. Thanks to this I am sure that I will never miss out on Catholic churches near me no matter where I am in the world.

I hope you share my confidence.

--

--

Aurora A
The Modern Catholic

Blogging since 2007| Business Admin Student | Tech Enthusiast