Why I Stopped Teaching Private Music Lessons

I failed to reach my goal for getting a masters in flute performance

Hannah Haefele
The Modern Musician

--

Photo by Joshua Woroniecki on Unsplash

Throughout college, I knew I wanted to become a private flute teacher. I started playing the flute in high school, and I went to a small state university. So I knew there was almost no chance of landing an orchestral job.

Performing solo would be great, but I knew that would be difficult if not impossible. And I also knew that teaching public school band was not for me. Sure, I could teach at the college level, but that would mean getting a doctorate: not something I want.

That meant my most viable option for a music career was to be a private teacher. It was the goal I had throughout undergrad, and it’s what motivated me to go to grad school for music.

But that goal didn’t work out, and I’m still a musician. If you’re struggling with shifting your career, this one’s for you.

I Had No Students

For about a year during grad school, I taught private lessons at a local music school. The lessons were mostly on piano, but I did work with some flute students occasionally.

However, I left that school after they hardly gave me students. And I’ll be honest, the COVID pandemic was another deciding factor.

--

--