A Proven Strategy for a Thriving Tech Career in Times of Uncertainty

Lessons From a Decade of Development

David Goudet
The Modern Scientist

--

My whole life it was taken for granted that programmers are in high demand and make a lot of money. So I never felt like I needed to save.
Alexey Inkin

December 2022.

ChatGPT was recently launched, and I was in the midst of an existential crisis.

While having a drink with a friend, she looked at my baggy eyes and asked me why I looked so tired. I couldn’t find words to describe what was happening in my mind, I was not sleeping well because I was thinking about the Singularity, the replacement of humans by computers, but I just replied: I have too much work.

It took me several weeks to recompose from that, but then the tech layoffs started knocking at my door: a couple of my close friends lost their jobs.

To deal with the stress, I turned to the best resources I knew for turbulent times: stoicism, and my obsession for searching for patterns in history.

I’ll show you everything that I discovered, and you’ll soon change your perspective about the world we’re living in.

Bubbles

Let’s go back to a time when there were no personal computers, no Internet, or people…

--

--

David Goudet
The Modern Scientist

Senior Software Engineer from Venezuela living in Madrid. Top Writer in AI and Technology. Singularity University/US Dept of State alumni.