How I Actually Completed Two Monthly Art Challenges

Nadia Davidson
The Molten Mind Space
6 min readJul 19, 2020

--

If you want to do any of the art challenges out there you need to plan them

Fairy art created for an art challenge by Nadia Davidson

Art Challenges

There are a lot of prompt lists out there for things like Inktober, but if you are not feeling the prompts it can be difficult to make anything worthwhile, or, even get motivated to draw every day. With the art challenges I completed (I have done two since failing miserably at Inktober last year), I created my own prompt lists, and did some research before the start of each month.

If you don’t know about the weird and wacky monthly art challenges out there in internet world, then you are in for a surprise. There are many more than you would think. Most people have heard of Inktober (where an artist will try to do an ink drawing every day for the month of October), but did you know that each month has at least one, if not several different ‘art challenge names.’ Here is a small sample of some, which I found out about last year.

As 2020 kicked off, I resolved to complete at least one of these mysterious challenges, learn how to get into the habit of drawing every day, and have as much fun as possible in the process.

--

--

Nadia Davidson
The Molten Mind Space

My name is Nadia Davidson. I am an artist who enjoys writing about the process of making art, bullet journaling and self improvement www.moltenimaginings.com