How We Chose To Adopt Our Second Child

After Struggling with Secondary Infertility

Lauren Barrett Writes
The Mom Experience

--

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

I lie patiently in the hospital bed, waiting for the neurosurgeon to arrive. By now, I’m a seasoned pro at these angiograms.

Lie on your back at about a 20-degree incline. No moving or walking for a couple of hours. If you feel like you are bleeding, immediately call for a nurse.

I have a brain aneurysm, or at least, I hope, at this point, I had a brain aneurysm. I had surgery on it about a year after I gave birth to my son. And while we waited for it to essentially dissolve, I wasn’t allowed to have any more kids. This procedure marks my third angiogram.

My husband and I are hoping that changes today.

The doctor strides into the office with a beam on his face and announces the good news. I’m all good! I can reduce my medicine dosage and safely have more kids! My husband and I are elated. We hug and make plans to start trying for baby number two….

That was two years ago. And we still are a family of three.

For so long, I was angry and sad that everything wasn’t going according to plan and that we were suffering from infertility.

Angry at God that He couldn’t give us one more child when we were surrounded by so many families at…

--

--