Letters to Pete: “I am going to come out to a friend today, and you are a major reason why.”

By Patrick, PA

Team Pete
The Moment by Pete for America
3 min readNov 5, 2019

--

Every day, Pete Buttigieg receives letters from Americans who believe we need a new approach to solve our nation’s biggest challenges. This is one of them. The following letter is transcribed as it was received on October 31, 2019.

Hi Mayor Pete

My name is Patrick. I am a college student. I feel almost foolish writing this email. I know that you are unbelievably busy, and the chances you read this email are slim to none.

Nevertheless, I wanted to let you (or the campaign staffer reading this) know the personal impact you had on me tonight. I am gay and have never told anyone. Most times I am able to push my sexuality to the side, but tonight has been a rough one. I am terrified of what the effects of my eventual coming out will be. Will my friends understand? Will my family accept me? Am I good enough to date? I don’t know the answer, and frankly, it scares the hell out of me. How can I expect people to love and accept me when I’m not sure I love and accept myself.

Equally, I am tired of being closed off. My best friends don’t know who I really am. I have walked around my entire life afraid of a secret, and it makes no sense. Why does it matter to anyone else whom I am attracted to? Why does it matter so much to me?

Anyway, I decided to watch some coming out stories on YouTube. This lead to some of your interviews, Mayor Pete, in which you told your story. Like you did, I have often thought of the magical answer to make me straight. Most days, I would like nothing more. I have been a supporter of yours since your exploratory committee, and have seen those same interviews before. But tonight, when I was struggling so deeply with my sexuality, you gave me hope. If you are able to travel the country with your husband by your side while running for President, then maybe the world I come out to won’t be as scary as I think.

You made me question if I really would want to flip a magic switch. I am going to come out to a friend today, and you are a major reason why. For that, I cannot thank you enough. And to whoever is reading this email, thank you for your contribution to this campaign. It’s a big thing.

-Patrick

Nobody should have to feel ashamed because of who they are or whom they love. To learn more about Pete’s vision for an inclusive future for LGBTQ+ people, read his plan.

If you are in need of someone to talk to, The Trevor Project is a safe, judgement-free resource ready to hear from you.

--

--

Team Pete
The Moment by Pete for America

Official Medium of Pete for America. We’re building a movement to meet this make or break moment in our nation’s history. Text PETE to 25859 to join us.