Letters to Pete: “It has been just me and my mom…she made the sacrifice to be in student debt for the rest of her life…”

By Nicholas N., NH

Team Pete
The Moment by Pete for America
2 min readNov 19, 2019

--

Every day, Pete Buttigieg receives letters from Americans who believe we need a new approach to solve our nation’s biggest challenges. This is one of them. The following letter is transcribed as it was received on July 31, 2019.

Student loans, student debt, the cost of school.

It has been just me and my mom my entire life. She had to go to college and take care of me at the same time because she needed a job to support my life.

Her life has been way more difficult than it should have been, and she made the sacrifice to be in student debt for the rest of her life, taking loans out she knew she wouldn’t be able to pay back. She is now a nurse practitioner with multiple degrees, but had over $180,000 in debt. Now she has about $110,000, but now I am going to college and my loans have to be in her name. This is because she worked so hard to get her good paying job, and since the government sees that she makes a good amount, they give me no financial aid. This forces her to take on my loans to get me to college.

This is not fair to her, and I want to take on my own loans as I should be doing. Yes, she makes six figures, but so much of that is taken out of taxes, health insurance, and student loan payments. After bills, she only has a few hundred to spare, but the government believes she can afford her education and now mine, too. It isn’t right. Something needs to be done about how student debt and loans work.

College can’t be free, but it needs to be more affordable for parents and students.

Good luck Pete!

-Nicholas N, NH

Pete Buttigieg believes every American who wants to achieve a college education should be able to do so without being overwhelmed with debt. Read his plan to learn more.

--

--

Team Pete
The Moment by Pete for America

Official Medium of Pete for America. We’re building a movement to meet this make or break moment in our nation’s history. Text PETE to 25859 to join us.