Letters to Pete: “The American dream is a bit more elusive to some of us.”

By Anu N., GA

Team Pete
The Moment by Pete for America
5 min readDec 22, 2019

--

Every day, Pete Buttigieg receives letters from Americans who believe we need a new approach to solve our nation’s biggest challenges. This is one of them.

Sir,

I’m writing this letter to you at 2:48 am on June 28, 2019, well after the Democratic presidential debate that aired on NBC. It’s always inspirational to watch you on stage with your calm and collected demeanor and thoughtful and authentic approach to the questions put forth to you, answering them honestly, never once dodging or deflecting. I’ve been a great admirer of you ever since that first CNN town hall back in March. First, let me offer you congratulations on an excellent debate. As the saying goes, “you showed’em”. Please accept my best wishes for a successful campaign, the eventual nomination and finally the Presidency itself.

I’m all wired up after listening to the debate and I’m sitting here in my bed, husband and baby daughter fast asleep right next to me, writing this letter to you at this godforsaken hour because I’m not able to sleep. Not just because of the events of last evening, exhilarating as it was, but because I don’t have an answer to what the future holds for my family and I. You see, this year marks the ninth anniversary of our life here in the good old U.S of A. Almost a decade of living in this blessed, bountiful country, meeting new people, learning new culture, even giving birth to a tiny new American, and yet living with that unsettling feeling of not belonging. Many of those first acquaintances that I made after coming to this country, those fellow immigrants, have long since become citizens of this country. However, my family and I, are still stuck in limbo. All those years ago, having come here legally, with two suitcases and a 9 month old son in hand, we set our eyes on achieving the “American Dream”. However, we soon realized that, despite all the hard work, the American dream is a bit more elusive to some of us, legal status be damned. Those long fingers of the dreaded red tape had followed us all the way from India, crushing us in its death grip, binding and trapping us in the purgatory of Green Card backlog.

The usual retort when I talk about the struggles of an immigrant stuck in the green card backlog is, “Why don’t you just go back to where you came from? Nobody’s forcing you to stay.” I understand that. It’s true that nobody is forcing me to stay here and it would’ve made sense to go back had it not been for my children. The 9 month old that I spoke about earlier is a 10 year old now and the tiny American is now 4. The 10 year old, despite being born in India, knows nothing about his home country or its culture or language (and, not for the lack of trying). In fact, there was a time, not so long ago, when, between his bouts of sobbing, I had to correct him from wrongly identifying himself as an American. And when I see him proudly singing the star spangled banner and pledging allegiance to the flag, he is every bit an American, in every sense of the word except on paper. But unfortunately, since he is here legally, he will not be identified as a DREAMER and there are no provisions for protection under the law once he ages out at age 21. Age 21 might sound like a long way away from age 10. But for us and many like us, time does fly at a different pace. When people from everywhere else in the world can get a green card in as little as 6 months to a year, it takes decades for someone from India to realize their green card dream (some analysis even pointing to a 150 year wait time). So children aging out is a real danger in our world. Meanwhile, I’m raising an aspiring environmental scientist (and an aspiring wild unicorn taming, cupcake baking princess — but that’s another story) who doesn’t yet understand the number of hoops he might have to jump through to realize that dream if by some luck, our visa renewals get approved until he comes of age. Also, despite being highly skilled and having worked in the US for almost 7 years, as the spouse of an H1B visa holder, I’m relegated to a subservient and inconsequential existence. I cannot use my hard earned degree or the years of experience to work in this country or start the business that I’ve always wanted to just because I was born in a certain country. And for everyone talking about women’s rights, very few seem to care about the plight of H4 spouses (in the 100 of thousands) mostly women, who are yearning to put their hard-earned skills to good use and restore a sense of self-worth.

Decades long wait for green card, fear of children aging out, fear of rejection every time we apply for a visa renewal, fear of losing our little piece of paradise we’ve built here for us in this last decade and yet nothing to abate the fear and worry that keep us up at 3 in the morning from anyone in Washington. Sure there is a bill in Congress (HR 1044 and its sibling S 386 in the Senate) right now which will help address this issue. But call it female intuition if I have already started mourning its eventual demise like its many predecessors despite having overwhelming bipartisan support…Sir, I understand and relate (perhaps the only subset of legal immigrants who can) to the plight of undocumented immigrants who come to this country looking for a better life for their family. I believe that anyone willing to take the risk and make the arduous journey to come to this country for better opportunity has the drive and ambition to realize their dream and should be given every opportunity to do so. However, there are people like us, already here, albeit being an inconsequential minority, who are in dire straits, and all I’m asking for is a little more of your time (and I’m grateful for all the times you have made the case for legal immigrants during your campaign) in bringing our case to the forefront. While I applaud you and the other Democratic presidential aspirants for meeting with undocumented immigrants and helping them tackle the dire situation they are in, I beg you, sir, to give us some more of your time and meet with us and hear our story. Please help bring this to the attention of other lawmakers and many more and help us get out of this purgatory.

I don’t know if this letter will even reach you, my first ever letter to a prominent person. I hope it does and I hope you’ll hear my plea and those of others like me and give your voice to our cause. Once again, all the very best to you and your campaign. And from me and many others like me and all those children who’re here legally and about to get aged out, who doesn’t have a voice, thank you for taking the time to read my letter.

Yours Sincerely,

Anu N., GA

Pete Buttigieg is building an immigration that works to reflect our values. If you want to learn more, read his plan.

--

--

Team Pete
The Moment by Pete for America

Official Medium of Pete for America. We’re building a movement to meet this make or break moment in our nation’s history. Text PETE to 25859 to join us.