Scheduling, Self-care & Support are this Mompreneur’s Keys to Success

Jennifer Kolbuc
The Mompreneur
Published in
8 min readFeb 7, 2019

--

This busy mom of four spends her days homeschooling her kids and running a successful photography business that spans family portraits and brand work. How does she pull it off? A lot of planning, persistence, and patience. Find out how Brandilyn Davidson balances motherhood and being a mompreneur.

Q: When did you decide to become a photographer?

I started dabbling in photography back in high school when we still used actual film, but it wasn’t until after I had my first child that I got a bit more serious about it. I had tried several other things along the way from blogging to making handmade wreaths, but none of those other ventures worked out.

After my first daughter was born, I really wanted to capture and remember all the small details of her life so I bought my first DSLR camera and took a few classes at a local college. Then I started taking pictures for friends and family to grow my portfolio.

What began as a passion quickly turned into a successful portrait photography business capturing families lives and children’s milestones. I did this for about 9 years and really enjoyed it. In the beginning I shot weddings as well, but the long weekend days and endless amounts of editing didn’t work well for our family schedule.

--

--

Jennifer Kolbuc
The Mompreneur

Social media coach for growing businesses. 10+ years experience helping brands grow. You'll find me hiking and drinking tea in Vancouver, Canada.