What It’s Really Like to be Color Blind. Plus: Test Yourself

How Well Do You See Color?

Joe Moody
The Mood

--

A man looks up pondering, with a color blind test behind him showing the number three.
Man by Tumisu. Color test by Luka Jagor, both on Pixabay

Nobody told me I was color blind. I was in art class and wanted to paint my rendition of peanut butter green. The kid next to me was repulsed. He said that peanut butter was brown, which repulsed me.

And that was my first clue that something was off about how I saw color… 🎨

As I calmly grew to accept my colorblindness, I realized people have a misconception about it: colorblind people often see vivid colors, we just don't know what the heck to call them!

How does it affect the day-to-day life?

As for careers, anything that relies on color is out, like piloting a plane.

Also, street lights can be scary.

The green stoplight looks pretty much white (maybe off-white?). I remember as a child, asking when the traffic light was going to turn white. My friend just kind of grimaced.

One danger is real when stoplights are not arranged from top to bottom (red on top, then yellow, then green). If there’s just one blinking light, I’m in trouble… Sometimes I can't tell if it's yellow or red. As flying through a red light can be deadly, I assume it’s red until I see another car drive through it confirming its…

--

--

Joe Moody
The Mood

Bringing you insights for and passive income tips ... aka "Joe Drummer Boy" https://joedrummerboy.com