Determining My Future

Huizhong Chen
The Most Special Journey In My Life
2 min readOct 12, 2020

Before high school, I did have dreamed about my future, but I never thought of it seriously. So, when my application advisor asked me what I wanted to study in college, I couldn’t give her an answer. Then, she asked me what was interesting to me. This time I answered her: “Music and business”.

Thanks to her inspiration, I started to look for programs and majors which can combine music and business. Finally, I found the Music Industry program at USC. The application requirement includes a portfolio and several essays. The portfolio was not hard for me, and I just recorded several covers. However, I was stuck on the essay question “what is your specific interest in the music industry and why”.

A screenshot of my performance recording

When I noticed the concert recording in my cell phone, I knew what was my passion. During the high school, as I have more time to participate in extra- curriculum activities, I went to many concerts and music festivals. When I was watching the performance, I realized that instead of just being the audience, I prefer to be a part of the concert team. And I reminded my experience of being the organizer of the school Christmas celebration. With all the memories, I determined that I wanted to be a concert manager.

A photo I took on a concert of a K-pop group

--

--