“Car Conversations” Sometimes Make Both Mom and the Kids Squirm

We discuss periods, oral sex, and other topics you can’t talk about eye-to-eye.

Anna (she/her)
The Motherload

--

When they can’t see my face, the kids feel more comfortable asking awkward questions. I feel better answering when I’m not looking at them either. Photo by Mark Cruz on Unsplash

Like many parents, I find it awkward to talk about sex and bodily functions with my kids. Yet I have two tween/teen daughters so I know they need this education. I’d much rather they come to me and be slightly uncomfortable, compared to relying on partially misinformed classmates

I recently read both Sara BarnesDitch “The Talk” In Favor Of A Better Conversation and Chris L. Robinson’s When Your Son Asks You About Furries, It’s Time for the Sex Talk. Reading both essays reminded me that yes, parents should think about the “sex talk” more as a series of conversations. Unlike my parents, I want to talk openly with my kids so they can gain a basic foundation of knowledge and have a trusted adult with whom they can talk about these issues.

My own experience was pretty stereotypical. My dad literally had one conversation with me that hinted at sex. He was driving me home from a school dance in 7th grade and said something to the effect of, “Don’t get too close to boys. You’re too young. Wait until you’re married.”

He never explained what sexual intercourse involved. I found out by reading the encyclopedia in our house in elementary…

--

--

Anna (she/her)
The Motherload

9X Top Writer. Proud grad of CA public schools. Committed to justice & leadership development. Wife & mom of 2 girls & 2 big dogs. Love to eat almost everything