Getting Out of Bed

A poem about reasons.

Lori A. Coleman
The Motherload
Mar 2, 2021

--

baby peeking out over crib railing
Photo by the author, Lori and Erin Photography

You wake up
with a mischievous smile on your face
with a giggle
ready to start the day

as if last night were a dream
as if you weren’t nursing every hour
tossing and turning and uncomfortable.

You roll over, ready to go
with fresh, boundless joy
and no recollection of trouble.

I wish I could be like you.

I wish my mind would move on.
I wish my body would forget.
I wish my eyes would open.

Thank you for the reminder
that all we have is this.
Today.
Right now.

Your smile is my sunrise.
Your laughter is my caffeine.
You are my reason
for getting out of bed.

words 16 months postpartum
photo 7 months postpartum

--

--

Lori A. Coleman
The Motherload

Newish mom, writing my way out of postpartum depression. Oldish photographer, telling stories about families, love and life.