Home Educating Your Children is Empowering

To you, the parents.

Ann Rickert Leach
The Motherload

--

Which path will you take on this journey? Photo by Ann Leach

Somewhere along the way, many of us lost our sense of empowerment, the internal belief that we can do it. (It being anything we put our minds to.) We lost our autonomy, that knowing that we are in charge of our lives. And so we turn to “authority figures” when we have questions rather than looking the answers up ourselves. We look to others to solve problems we can actually solve ourselves. It is past time for us to take back what was ours, to begin with. And choosing to home educate our children can be the tools we use.

I’ve said it many times that my daughter’s home education journey is the most effective, least expensive self-improvement program I’ve ever not purchased.

Along the way, I’ve learned self-management, confidence, social skills, friendship-making, and keeping skills. I’ve learned how to organize meet-ups and excursions. I’ve learned to speak up when necessary, to make hard decisions, and how to follow through on those decisions.

I’ve become more self-empowered and self-aware, more diplomatic, and know when enough is enough.

I’ve learned not to rely on others to meet my and my daughter’s needs, but that interdependence is valuable too. I’m more likely to ask forgiveness than permission.

--

--

Ann Rickert Leach
The Motherload

Book author and article writer, Unplugged Fun owner; Outdoor & physical activity enthusiast, Living best life adventurer, Curious learner