Maternity Leave: A Day in the Life

Trish Di Stefano
The Motherload
Published in
5 min readJan 24, 2022

--

Photo by Luiza Braun Unsplash

I’ve been on the couch for most of the afternoon; my daughter is being really irritable and it seems she’s only ready to calm down in my arms. It’s embarrassing to have to tell my husband I’m exhausted. I’ve hardly moved. I could have had the TV on for hours if I wanted to, but then I’d really feel bad about myself.

This has been bothering me a lot lately. I feel so damn tired, but even more guilty about admitting it. I haven’t physically done much of anything.

I’ve started to question myself. Am I sick? Am I just becoming more lazy the less I move? Am I overreacting and this is just how all mothers with infants feel?

I think back to this morning. My daughter falls asleep before 8:30 am, a little out of character. I’ve just sat down to eat breakfast, and she’s out cold. Well that’s nice, I guess I’ll be having hot coffee today. This is a WIN.

9:00 am. She’s still sleeping. WOW! I run upstairs to fold the laundry I left out the night before, constantly running back down to make sure she’s OK in her swing. That she hasn’t shifted into a dangerous position. That she’s still breathing. I’m out of breath but I’m thrilled that the laundry is being put away before lunchtime. She’s still going; maybe I can throw in another load or two.

--

--

Trish Di Stefano
The Motherload

Trish Di Stefano is an idealist, recovering perfectionist and weekend glutton.