Moms, How Can I Help You?

Trish Di Stefano
The Motherload
Published in
5 min readMar 10, 2022

--

Photo by Luana Azevedo @unsplash

There are a lot of mothers who need help right now. This article is for them.

I’ve had a hard time sitting down to write for the past couple of weeks. I haven’t had much “free” time because I’m in one of those stages of Mom life where solo moments are few and far between. But there are moments, and every time I’ve had one lately I’ve felt uninspired to write, at least not about the things I normally do. I talk a lot about how difficult parenting is. And that’s because it is. But given the state of the world, it seems like the wrong time to be venting about spending all my waking hours with a healthy, safe, beautiful baby.

I know we can’t be constantly comparing our lives to others. One minute I’m weighing myself against the perfectly curated moms of Instagram, and the next I’m drowning in perpetual guilt over the fact that I live in a safe, free country. What a waste of energy to do either, which doesn’t help a damn soul. And there are a lot of people who need help right now.

There have been so many reminders lately of how lucky I am, and I would feel like a fool not to acknowledge it. Not to let it give me perspective on the days I personally deem “dark”.

I am ashamed of my behaviour lately. My little temper tantrums over not getting coffee breaks or not having enough…

--

--

Trish Di Stefano
The Motherload

Trish Di Stefano is an idealist, recovering perfectionist and weekend glutton.