Rain, Rain, Go Away…

but if it doesn’t, get outside and play!

Sandy Gold
The Motherload

--

Photo by Xavi Cabrera on Unsplash

Memorial Day weekend was a washout this year. It was unseasonably cold and rainy, the kind of rain that pours down in buckets without letting up. Everyone stayed inside and all of our outdoor get-togethers were canceled. It reminded me of another rainy May, fifteen years ago.

At the time, my son was an active four-year-old. He loved being outside and moving his body as much as he possibly could. One rainy day of indoor play was a nice change of pace. He’d keep himself busy with toys he hadn’t played with for a while. But by the second day, all he wanted to know was, when would he be able to go outside to play.

“When the rain stops,” was my answer.

On what seemed like the hundredth rainy day in a row (although it was probably only the 4th or 5th), I realized that the house seemed awfully quiet. Too quiet was never really a good sign so I went to see what was up. My daughter was playing with her Polly Pockets in the basement, where I assumed my son was too. But she said she didn’t know where he was.

He wasn’t upstairs either. I was puzzled as my house wasn’t so big that I should have been able to lose a child in it. So, I started to go room to room, to take another look. I wondered if perhaps he was hiding in a closet when I passed by a…

--

--

Sandy Gold
The Motherload

I’m an educator, an advocate for inclusion, an avid reader, and a mother struggling to adjust to being an empty nester. IG:@sandygoldcoaching