Living with Anxiety

Shubham Roy
The Motorcycle Journals
2 min readDec 1, 2019

Imagine, it’s a dark stormy night and you are a caveman sleeping inside a cave. You get startled at the slightest rustle of leaves and on the loudest thunder. You are constantly in fear and those instincts are trying to save your life in case you are in danger of getting killed by a predator. So your body prepares itself in self-defense, your heart starts beating faster and your senses are heightened. You are expecting something bad to happen at any time.

Now, just shift the background to a modern office where those former instincts are in place but there is no real threat to be seen. That is what living with anxiety feels like. It’s like your body is preparing itself for something bad to happen but really there is nothing bad happening, well maybe, besides a useless meeting.

Deep by Mario Sanchez Nevado
Deep by Mario Sanchez Nevado

I have had anxiety for a while now and it’s nothing special to write home about. It’s just a constant reverb of a feeling that something bad will happen and it never does but it doesn’t stop my body to react otherwise and my mind to think about all the possible scenarios, mostly the bad ones. And most of the time nothing bad happens but I overthink myself to a bad mood and a long spell of laziness followed by procrastination of important and urgent tasks and a lingering lack of motivation to do anything or meet anyone.

Some spells last a night and some, months. I think you get the picture of how it’s not really a good feeling to have. It’s like a bad roommate who just wouldn’t leave your house and doesn’t clean up after himself. And unfortunately, instead of getting rid of him, you apparently join him in his habits.

So, how do you get rid of this roommate you have living inside your mind and letting him shit all over your house? Well, the answer is not that difficult. Now mind that I am not a professional and this is strictly my opinion as to how to get the right mindset. But I have started to meditate. I have always been skeptical about meditation because most of the time I felt it never fetched me any results, until now. I am not as regular in meditating as I am making you believe but I try my best. The next important thing is to micro-manage your day to day schedule and force yourself to follow it until it becomes a habit.

Following these two things have helped me to reset my counterproductive lifestyle and maybe it might help you too.

--

--

Shubham Roy
The Motorcycle Journals

A Java engineer’s travel logs. I code so that I can travel on my bike.