statement of intention

Rashmi Suthar
the moving artists
Published in
5 min readMar 15, 2018

Public art and new artistic strategies.

I grew up in places where the children had plenty space to play. We shared access to a variety of sports and playgrounds in Baroda. As I pursue architecture, I observe the differences in public and private space. My studies for the urban studio captured several junctions in my hometown. These junctions were often oblivious to the human eye engrossed in errands of our daily life. I have since, been always fascinated by the idea of redeveloping a junction. Junctions can act as a pause, or a platform for urban activities by it’s strategic position on the map.

Context is important to develop art and design in a public realm. Such ideas create dialogue and exchanges where people share their experiences. The audience perceives your concept in surprising ways.

Pur Oliver Nan quoted, “In art and design, often the aim is to find, or combine a perfect form for a specific problem. You grapple with the daily lives of people, and the hope for a connection that can begin to transcend.”

My search for similarities between science and spirituality developed into a concept. Ashram at Gokarna, a small town on the western coast of India. I discovered art while traveling across the country which connected me to my inner light.

Art and Culture Foundation of Vadodara, and Vadodara International Art and Culture Festival Authority organize VadFest. The event was a first hand experience to work with a multi-disciplinary crew. The programs were to redevelop urban streets for a public project.

The idea of making art accessible and out of galleries and museum is quite convincing to me. Public space as a typology serve two major functions. A platform for mass demonstrations, and a place for individual expression. They are also places that lack ownership to call it home. But they still root the cause of belonging for any community, or group of people.

Walter Gropius quoted, “Let us create a new guild of craftsmen, without the class distinctions that raise an arrogant barrier between crafts and art.”

Bauhaus moment was a paradigm shift in the history of world architecture and Germany. As an institute, it brought for art, design, and architecture under one roof. This led to a splurge of liberal thoughts among many creators. Acknowledging the future while respecting the past is of significant importance. Bauhaus has survived as an Institute for open-minded creativity.

I have always been ambitious. I have always dreamt of changing the world for the better. I have realized that this goal needs togetherness. Observing the challenges that are present in the world today, we have to create awareness. We have to work together to build a better world, and smarter planet. My travels within India has shown me a zest within the immense, and complex density. There is seeming chaos, like many other cultures, and art practices across the world.

I travelled across the country solo for two years. I saw a rapid shift in the cultures across every 100 miles. I have met many smiling faces at public places, who interact in ways specific to the place. As we continue on with our lives, these interactions are the memories we create. Memories of our time at, or within the space. The Kochi Muziris Biennale 2016 was an experience that started a new way of thought for me as an artist. It inspired me to work for the masses. The idea of bringing art outdoors. The idea of not limiting it to museums and galleries. The idea will make art accessible for everyone. Streets give more visibility and a diverse audience than a gallery. This thought drives my art, and architectural practice. Recently I did a live artwork of 5 x 5 ft at Ragasthan, a music festival. The idea was to translate music into the natural colours of dusk as the sun set on the desert. The painting that the audience viewed will be a part of their Ragasthan experience. It might have added a new perspective to their understanding of the arts.

Public art is a way to create awareness about the city within the citizens. Every city has its own music and you need to listen to it to know what it needs. Art can be a powerful medium to pause daily life and inspire people to ask better questions. How often do we stop anyway? Our questions enable us to think and see new perspectives to change the city. Public art installations whether temporary or permanent alters the memory of a place. It creates joy, breaks monotony, encourages spontaneity, and creates an identity. Urban public space is a shared space with individualistic experiences. Art can dissolve boundaries, create opportunities, and interaction among people. Public spaces are for the common good and an asset to the city.

I may not change the whole world but together we can transform it, one small degree at a time. Together we can create moments of joy in individual lives across the world. I want to be part of Bauhaus and the public art course for this purpose.

At present, I am practicing art and architecture in India. I am often invited to exhibit my paintings. The recent exhibitions were at Faculty of Architecture, MSU (Maharaja Sayajirao University), and “Reflection” held as the 25th anniversary celebrations of KAAF — Kalabhavan Alumni Architecture Foundation. I am inspired by the New York school moment, or “abstract expressionism” that began after World War II. I am exploring a theme called “The Idea Of Home”. It is a narrative that pays homage to wandering nomads in search of their home. My travels and the vast spread of landscapes in India have inspired me to start a platform — “The Moving Artists”. aimed at collaboration and creating branding solutions.

The program will give essential exposure to my art, architecture, and culture. Living, experiencing a new culture will add new perspectives to my thinking. Adapting to new culture will open up the global public art realm for me. It will give me a chance to create positive change in the world.

--

--