Toronto After Dark 2016 Profile: Serena Whitney

“If more films and television shows can accept their characters for who they are, then hopefully more viewers can also accept people in their lives for who they are.”

Lisa Gallagher
MUFF Blog
7 min readOct 13, 2016

--

“Do You See What I See?”

Film: Do You See What I See?

Co-writers and co-directors Serena Whitney and Justin McConnell’s short film Do You See What I See? follows two sisters throwing a house party during the Christmas season, unaware that a deadly invader will soon be crashing the proceedings. It has been called “fun and bloody with a deranged ending” and, having seen it ourselves, we can confirm this as true!

Filmed here in Toronto, the duo used many of their local friends as background party people and if you look closely, you may even see this blue-haired beauty (me) make an appearance (SPOILER: I escape and live a long and beautiful life on a tropical island surrounded by exotic birds).

Do You See What I See?” behind the scenes — co-directors Justin McConnell & Serena Whitney

So far in its festival run, Do You See What I See? has screened nationally and internationally from the Calgary Underground Film Festival to Saskatoon Fantastic Film Festival to New Orleans’ NOLA Horror Film Fest to the UK’s Celluloid Screams and Horror Channel FrightFest, but their showing at Toronto After Dark will be the first time the film has been seen by a hometown audience.

You can see Do You See What I See? at this year’s Toronto After Dark, screening in front of The Rezort at 6:30pm on October 15th. GET YOUR TICKETS HERE.

Do You See What I See?” teaser trailer

TELL US A LITTLE BIT ABOUT YOURSELF AND HOW YOU GOT INVOLVED WITH FILMMAKING.

Serena Whitney: I’m a writer and have been driven to be a screenwriter since a very young age. I realized that writing was a extreme passion of mine as I knew I wanted a career in writing more than I wanted to get married, to have children, or any other “so-called” societal norms expected from women. I got involved in the film industry by first writing as a film reviewer for a decade for numerous media outlets. Writing for these publications gave me numerous opportunities in the industry, however I didn’t want to just write about everybody else’s films all the time. I wanted to create my own. So, since then I have been steadily seeking projects to work on.

TELL US A BIT ABOUT DO YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? WHERE DID THE IDEA COME FROM?

SW: The idea for Do You See What I See? came after a heavy-duty brainstorm session with co-director Justin McConnell. At the time, we were trying to come up with a concept for a horror short contest and the deadline was soon approaching. We came up with many ideas, but we finally chose one that incorporated both of our ideas and concepts equally, and that’s how Do You See What I See? was born. We knew we weren’t going to make the deadline for the contest, so instead we just took our time and we ended up with a polished product to take to film festivals.

WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO SET THE FILM AT CHRISTMASTIME? WHY DO YOU THINK HOLIDAYS ARE SO POPULAR IN HORROR FILMS?

SW: We set the film during Christmas time for three reasons. The first reason was because it was during the Christmas season last year when we shot our short and it just made sense to take advantage of the festive set decorations and lighting options. The second reason was because both Justin and I foresaw an upcoming trend in holiday horror films and we knew we could get more reach with our short if it took place during the holidays.

However, my personal reason for setting the film during Christmas is because I am truly OBSESSED with it and I was looking for an excuse to get all my close friends and family in ugly Christmas sweaters for the shoot. I think Christmas is very popular today in horror films because it’s not until we are adults that we realize how truly creepy Christmas carols and the Santa Claus folklore really are. There are so many ominous possibilities that can happen in a Christmas holiday film.

“Do You See What I See?”

TECHNOLOGY PLAYS A PART IN YOUR FILM. WITHOUT GIVING ANYTHING AWAY, CAN YOU TELL US HOW YOU THINK THIS SPEAKS TO SOCIETY’S CURRENT RELATIONSHIP WITH TECHNOLOGY?

SW: Like our minds, technology is a terrible thing to waste. It’s truly remarkable how far technology has come in just a decade. However, technology is a terrible thing in the wrong hands. In the film Scream, Billy Loomis says, “Movies don’t create psychos. Movies make psychos more creative.” I think the same can be said when it comes to technology and hopefully that is the message Justin and I are able to convey to the viewers.

DO YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? WAS YOUR DIRECTORIAL DEBUT, CORRECT? CAN YOU TELL US HOW THAT WAS?

SW: Yes, it was and it was stressful, challenging, and exhilarating all at the same time. It was an ambitious script we had written and we had only two days to shoot the film in my house. It was definitely a sink or swim situation. Thankfully, I was co-directing with Justin and he really showed me the ropes in terms of being behind the camera. I also had the luxury of working with an amazing cast and crew who were understanding and on point. After the shoot, I had learned that my favourite part of directing was working with the actors. I still have a lot to learn being behind the camera, however I feel very confident and comfortable with that aspect of directing.

TELL US ABOUT WHY YOU ARE A FEMINIST AND WHY IT’S IMPORTANT TO YOUR FILMMAKING.

SW: I am a feminist because I grew up as a left-handed, biracial, Agnostic, Prince-loving, horror-obsessed Canadian girl who was constantly criticized for how I looked, how I acted, what I loved and/or valued, and simply for being different. When I was younger, there were films that had characters I could relate to. Unfortunately, it was also their ethnicities or differences that played into the conflict of the story as well. That’s why when I write stories that take place in Present day, I always strive to write strong and diverse characters (both female and male) without having their differences affect the plot of the story. If more films and television shows can accept their characters for who they are, then hopefully more viewers can also accept people in their lives for who they are.

“Do You See What I See?”

IF A MOVIE ABOUT YOUR LIFE WERE CREATED, WHO WOULD STAR AS YOU AND WHAT GENRE WOULD IT BE?

SW: Oh god… this kind of feels like taking a picture of celebrity to a hairdresser and saying you want to look just like them. However, if I had to choose a celebrity, I would choose Zoe Kravitz to star in a dramedy about my f*cked up twenties and relationships. (Or what I considered ‘relationships’ at the time.)

WHO ARE YOUR FAVOURITE WOMEN WORKING IN THE FILM INDUSTRY?

SW: My favourite female filmmakers would probably have to be Julie Delpy and Sarah Polley. They both seem to understand the complexities of relationships and they’re both able to tell their poignant stories in a hard-hitting way. Although, if I had to work with anyone, it would be Effie Brown. She’s an amazing and hard-working producer I truly respect and admire.

WHAT’S YOUR GO-TO JAM?

SW: When it comes to my music, I definitely live in the past! As of right now, I have been on a late ‘70s and ‘80s hip-hop kick since watching The Get Down, so I would have to say Grandmaster Flash And The Furious Five’s ‘FREEDOM’. On any other day, I would say ‘EROTIC CITY’ by Prince.

WHAT ARE YOU WORKING ON NEXT? WILL YOU CONTINUE TO DIRECT?

SW: I am most definitely interested in directing more and am currently pursuing some personal projects of my own to work on. I am also continuing to work with Justin to develop Do You See What I See? as feature project we are both aiming to co-write and co-direct as well . We are also working on bringing the film adaptation (we have written together and producing) of the horror novel Kane to life.

RECOMMEND ONE #MUFFAPPROVED FILM FOR OUR BLOG READERS:

SW: I recommend everyone go out and give their money to Andrea Arnold’s American Honey. The film is the cinematic embodiment of TLC in 1994: CrazySexyCool.

“Do You See What I See?” gif from BloodyDisgusting.com

Follow Serena on Twitter and Instagram and also check out her monthly screening series, Drunken Cinema, on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

You can also follow Do You See What I See?’s Facebook page for up-to-date info on the film.

Lisa Gallagher is the Producer of The MUFF Society in Toronto and the Social Media Coordinator for Toronto After Dark Film Festival. She is a lover of cats, carbs, and laying down.

Follow her on Instagram and Letterboxd.

--

--

Lisa Gallagher
MUFF Blog

Festival Director of Toronto True Crime Film Festival. Former producer of The MUFF Society in Toronto. Lover of cats, carbs, and Keanu Reeves.