Joe Hisaishi: A True Musical Master

A timeless talent, a gift to the world

Samantha M🥀
The Music That Moves Us

--

Image Credit: https://www.studioghibli.fr/joe-hisaishi-en-concert-a-paris-la-defense-arena-en-avril-2024-ne-ratez-pas-les-preventes/

Most of us already know or grew up with Studio Ghibli films and the symphonic orchestrator Mr. Hisaishi. He has been associated with director and animator Hayao Miyazaki since 1984, having written scores for all but one of Miyazaki’s films.

Howl’s Moving Castle, Ponyo, Porco Rosso, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Spirited Away, to only name a few.

I grew up as a Disney kid ranging from classic films such as Robin Hood, 101 Dalmatians, The Aristocats, and Fantasia spanning all the way up to their more modern films such as Elemental (my new personal favorite), Frozen, and Tangled.

I have an untapped potential for Disney Karaoke, but that’s a separate discussion as my Disney Spotify Playlist is proof enough.

I never knew much about Studio Ghibli until my dear husband exposed me to a whole other theatrical musical world a few years ago. Unlike me, he grew up watching Ghibli films and was always enthralled by the music and stories.

When we started dating, he talked about them frequently and was utterly appalled at my lack of Ghibli knowledge. Him knowing me so well, he had a strong feeling I’d fall in love with them, and he was absolutely right.

--

--

Samantha M🥀
The Music That Moves Us

Writing about change, feelings, life, and sending it out to the world. Seeking understanding amongst the chaos. Owner of The Literary Underground Pub✍️