There’s no Long Tail industry, but we’re not hopeless.

It’s a matter of time to see independent niche artists go big.

Tommy Darker
The Musicpreneur
Published in
2 min readOct 20, 2013

--

I know you might be tired with that exhausted concept, but I just had an epiphany, that I’ll investigate more in an underground fashion. First things first, why there’s no industry:

An industry is supposed to be a system created to streamline value and benefit all parties — the creators, the customers and the mediators as well — not only the latter. Long Tail’s industry doesn’t follow that premise.

Some focal points of my theory:

1. Big hits nowadays are not-that-big like in the past.
2. There are many platforms that offer major exposure, without restricting the artist. Eurovision, reality shows, big brands, to name a few.
3. You might have to sell part of your soul for a small amount of time. You tap into the audience that these platforms offer. You direct them to your own channels.
4. You focus on your brand and organize a proper business plan to drive value and make money in your own terms (like touring, creating experiences, selling whatever branded product you like).
5. You collaborate with similar medium-big niche artists and swap audiences with them.

A winning strategy. I’ll work on it to refine it and apply it for myself.

Examples that did this: Pentatonix , KOZA MOSTRA , Alex Day , Lindsey Stirling , any artist that collaborates with brands.

This requires a few things to be done in order to pursue success:
1. Have a business model
2. Have a strong brand
3. Have a team to manage your own channels
4. Find the proper platform that suits your brand
5. Be able to stand out in the competition of those outlets
6. Become friends with other like-minded artists, don’t compete.

Thoughts? Related articles:

The Myth Of The Long Tail

The Man Vs. The Myth

Bridging The Gap Between Art And Business

For more essays like this as soon as they’re published, enter your email here.

I love starting conversations. If you share the same mindset, find me on Facebook and Twitter and let’s talk!

I’m Tommy Darker, the writing alter ego of an imaginative independent musician. I started ‘Think Beyond The Band’ because I feel proud of what I’ve accomplished so far and I like helping other fellow musicians that struggle with the same problems.

--

--

Tommy Darker
The Musicpreneur

#Musicpreneur and admirer of the incomplete. I like talking with people.