image: venturesafrica.com

I have a dream

Fiyin A.
Musings
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2017

--

Amidst all the political news and hullabaloo,
I just sleep and wake daily like a baby
But the realisation of a public holiday begat a cue;
What if I craft something for dear democracy?

Webster defines it as people voting for their leader:
A system of equal rights where no one’s treated better
But some think it’s more power for those already in power
others don’t care cause it’s not a subject matter.

Wrong information is always shown in the media
Negative images are fast becoming the main criteria
Some of us don't even know right vs wrong in Nigeria
So long maga pays, we're on our way to galleria

Ignorance is the beginning of all forms of manipulation
And I know we have the laws documented in the constitution
But very few people would read a code over a notification
Maybe we should now view entertainment as a form of education.

To all the advocates of creativity
If Nollywood is now the basis of morality
And Facebook, still the primary source of Connectivity
Then Constitutional knowledge can actually be a reality

Now to the people of this nation
I’m just fascinated by our confidence despite our ignorance.
Where keeping quiet brands one as influential,
A typical Nigerian goes "do you know who I am?"
Its just something deeply rooted in our ego
And I’m not sure we’ll stop hearing that soon
It’s a mix of insecurity and a wannabe intent, which isn’t bad by the way
I call those people the ambitious egoists.

I (too) have a dream!
Even though it's a mix of reality, fantasy, emotions and what I had for dinner
The bottom line is, I see a future.

I see a nation where there is free Internet access to all. Where we can vote anonymously online, and actually do national polls and pass bills on twitter.
A nation where there's financial security, so people can invent things without fear of failure.
Or let's even eradicate money and go back to trade by barter.
That way, every individual must produce something, else you can't trade.
And I know economists will tell me a billion reasons why this can't possibly work, thank God I’m not one.

I’m also not afraid to be called stupid.
That's what most people say to me already
And I now see it as a compliment

My goal is not to add more to all the existing rants
Or publish a more refined form of bants
Its just some creativity to wind down your mind
Which is why is coming at night.

Happy democracy day people!

Published 29/05/2017; 8:00 p.m

If you enjoyed the write up, please hit the little heart to recommend. That way, more people will get to see it. Thank you.

--

--